Eco-living, help on our land in la Taha, Andalucia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated   Last minute

Favourited 473 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an English man, now separated from my ex, Bolivian Viviana (who lives just 2km away in the village of Mecina), with two young kids, Ivi (11) and Ari (8), developing a truly magical property of moorish, medieval, mountain terraces in La Taha, situated between the two longest and most spectacular gorges of the Southern Sierra Nevada (Alpujarra Granadina). It's an idyllic smallholding with lots of growing and some construction tasks (retaining walls, etc). The children are half the time with Vivi and half the time here. No road access, 10mins walk from the nearest village, surrounded by some of the most beautiful walking trails in Andalucia.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To learn languages, childcare, animalcare (2 horses for riding, a dog, 3 cats and 4 chickens). We are an anglo-bolivian family living in the alpujarras and our place is well located for fantastic walks in beautiful landscapes, many along very ancient trails.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for help with country tasks, building and cooking. Experience with manual tasks and gardening very necessary right now. With summer arriving, work duties will start between 7 & 8am and finish before lunch.
    Now also very interested in someone with website creation and management skills to help me with the marketing of the property as an eco-tourism retreat. A paradise for the adventurous with a keen interest in self-sufficiency. Some tasks will be physically demanding. Perfect for those wishing to be healthy-living in a natural environment away from it all. It's important to like children while also enjoying your own space. Looking for helpers / volunteers, individuals/couples , possibly long term, english teaching (for the kids) and gardening being the main activities this season. Most keen to have a long term self-reliant couple or individual, efficient, proactive and hardworking and responsible and reliable to be able to look after the place while I'm away in August.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 6m diameter Mongolian yurt will be your home and one of your jobs will be to improve it with love and care. Solar panel electricity. Wifi available at the main house.
    There is also a new house above, which is undergoing renovations at the moment.
    This June I'd be very grateful to have a keen individual who is flexible and enjoys manual tasks whereas for July and August, I am looking for a responsible couple who will be able to manage the place while I'm away. The yurt and the upper house should then be available for retreat tourism, which will need some hosting organisation (shared with me online).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Can cater for vegetarians but not for vegans. If you are able to be independent and take on the management of cooking, cleaning, driving , shopping and gardening between them, long-term. This would require quite intense training for the first week by me (George) and then lots of independent responsibility and pro-activity on your behalf... an interesting proposal for those who wish to oversee the longterm development of a project (being to convert this finca into an eco-tourism farmstay using all three houses as rentals), while working together in a group and individually assuming different roles and responsibilities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week with food or 3 hours a day without food.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 972761595413