Come enjoy this small, but very pretty hilltop village in Roquecor, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Retired couple ( publisher and lawyer) living in a small, rural village Tarn et Garonne, SW France.
    The village is 1 hour north of Toulouse and 1 hour south of Bergerac. We are 2.5 from the Atlantic the same from the Med and about 4 from ski areas. Carcassonne 2 hours, Sete, 3.5 hours, San Sebastián 4 hours, Barcelona 3.5 hours. The area has many different styles of architecture and interests for those interested in design, painting, writing or anyone wanting to experience the people, language, customs and food and wine. The village is not isolated and there are many villages close by with bars, fetes, markets, artists and artisans.

    The village is a small very pretty hilltop village and is an agricultural working village growing fruit, nuts and grain. It is the area for foie de canard, so lots of ducks. There are two bars/cafes, an art gallery and artisan shops. There are activities in the village, yoga, walking groups, music and painting. On Sunday morning there is a growers market and some musical events. Because it is a small village people are friendly. The residents are mostly French families and a mixture of British, Australian, US, Dutch and Belgian Expats.
    The house is a village house and is over 300 years old. It is unique, with stone walls and floors a vaulted cave and ancient beams. We have “dropped in” modern bathrooms and kitchens trying to retain as much of the old as possible. It is on three floors, the garden has 3 different levels and the village is hilly, so not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties?
    The house has been fully restored using traditional methods. So an opportunity to learn how to repair and care for ancient properties. Jobs to help do would be to help pointing the garden wall, boarding a ceiling and general small repairs maintenance and gardening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The village is a working French village so a great opportunity to learn or improve language skills, experience French life, regional cooking and gain wine growing and agriculture skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Knowledge of ancient building care such as lime pointing would help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Welsh

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room with shower in a family home. Food and accommodation provided as a member of family

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If insurance allows car available. Weekends free to explore the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 973272218171