Central Victorian Intentional community

Country

Australia

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are part of a community, consisting of around 25 people, 9 households, situated on 340 acres and surrounded by state forest (Fryers Ranges) on 3 sides, Box Ironbark Country.
    The community has been designed on Permaculture Principles.
    We are situated about 15 minutes outside of Castlemaine, a wonderful alternative town.
    Our interests are meditation, yoga, alternative lifestyles, we love travel and meeting people.
    We are relaxed but hardworking.
    There is always projects to do, be it general building maintenance or building projects, painting, gardening

    We have wonderful lake to swim in and great country to walk.
    Belinda and Gary

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Different aspects of living in community, sustainable living, connection with nature.
    Most people that stay learn from us as we do from them.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly we require help in the garden, preparing around the house for the fire season, maybe building projects or forestry.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer comfortable mud brick accomodation, seperate to the main house, its wonderfully quiet. In the cooler months we have fires every night. In the warmer months there is the lake to swim in or you can join me what ever the weather for a morning dip. We eat a mainly vegetarian diet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are walks in the forest and a large lake/dam for swimming in summer.
    There are plenty of kangaroos to observe, wonderful bird life and a resident Italian Greyhound with lots of love to share.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours


Host ref number: 973133127819