Come and recharge in our calm home and help out with the garden and other odd jobs in Central Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Pete and I ( Sharon) are easy going couple who have bought a property in Brittany.

    I am a teacher of special needs young peoole. I love being around interesting people and sharing skills and interests. I enjoy cooking and being creative with furniture, I am the owner of a company where I transform old furniture into new.
    Pete is a transport manager and frustrated gardener ( not having time in the UK)
    We enjoy travel and culture and connecting with people.
    The house is in good order and comfortable. There are ' jobs' to be completed but nothing major.
    ** UPDATE ** we are currently renovating the third and final room in the house, skills of woodworking, plaster boarding and plastering and decorating would be great.

    Mostly getting the garden into a manageable order to set it up to produce vegetables and fruit for sustainability and healthy free food.
    ** UPDATE ** we have created a good garden since I first wrote this and now we want to add some more features, a sunken fire pit made from a washing machine drum, build some walls ( very small ) create and plant the vegetable garden, build a raised decking area, complete the patio area.

    We are vegetarian. And try to eat vegan as much as possible. We do not allow meat or any kind in our home.

    Accomodation for guests will be a twin bed room ( or king size bed if preferred ) When further renovations are complete there will be a double room.

    Our overall ethos us that we are blessed to have a home in France and want to share it with others, we want it to be a calming place to holiday and a place to recharge your batteries. There will be no TV so people can switch off, communicate with others , read and enjoy good food and wine.
    The house in in Central Brittany next to the Nantes Brest canal, a very picturesque area with lots of lovely walks, cycle rides and nature. It's about 50 mins to the south coast at Vannes and just over an hour to the north coast at At Malo.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an teacher and will assist with learning English in a casual way rather than direct lessons.
    We welcome the exchange of knowledge of gardening skills and creating our garden into a sustainable food source.
    We are offering workawayers to stay in our home and help with jobs during the day.
    There will be three meals and homemade cakes / snacks available.

  • Help

    Help

    We are happy to accept all kinds of skills to our home so please do let us know what you have to offer
    The garden is our main priority and visitors who have skills in this area would be most welcome.
    We do not have a grand budget and want to use as much recycled materials as possible. Also thinking of the sustainability, such as building rain catchers and storage for irrigation. Planning the planting areas and what to grow. This is exciting as we are starting from scratch so the planning stage us important.
    The house is solid and well maintained internally in the living areas. The second floor now has just one room to complete, if anyone is handy at building wooden frame work, plastering, decorating, building wardrobes etc etc from scratch you would be most welcome.
    There will be external painting and rubbing down of the shutters for painting. ** this job is now complete) just one window left to rub down and paint.
    None of the jobs on the house are challenging and we are hoping to attract workawayers of all ages and nationalities.
    In return, we offer a comfortable home with meals included. I am an avid baker and cook and promise god vegetarian foods.. sharing the cooking will be part of the stay.
    We converse in English but are trying to learn French and exchanging conversation in French would be great, my teaching experience will also help those who wish to learn English.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a registered teacher of English and host English students through the holidays season. I am happy to give English lessons to workaway guests.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Twin bedroom in the house shared bathroom. if one person is staying this can be a king size bed.

    All food will be supplied and use of kitchen, we love when guests want to cook for us too. We are very casual and this works well for all who share our home.
    We are vegetarian and eat vegan a lot too.
    We do not allow meat or the cooking of meat in our home. The guests we have are usually keen to try our varied food and enjoy the experience .
    We do not have TV in our home as we want to encourage communication and peace too.
    Wifi is installed and a very good connection.
    Workawayers are free to come and go as they please to explore and enjoy the local area. WE have bikes to use and there is pre bookable bus service to the largest nearby town Pontivy, this town has all the shops and large stores you need plus swimming poo and leisure facilities.
    In the UK we have hosted many students from across Europe and are completely at ease with doing so.
    I have also spent time in Uganda working with charity mainly in education.
    We believe that treating others as you like to be treated is key to getting along well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is central Brittany and there is lots to explore, the Nantes Brest canal is a two minute walk from the house, cycling , hiking , jogging , canoeing is all in the doorstep.
    Not to far away are other interesting towns and villages to explore, Josselin, Pontivy, Vannes, Dinan are all under an hour drive away.
    There are railway stations at Vannes and St Malo. the main train route from Paris to Brest stops in Lambelle which is about an hour from us,
    there is also a bus that travels from Rennes to Pontivy daily and it stops at Pont Hammond which is about 20 minute, we can collect guests from with Lambelle, or Pont Hammond

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are happy to host digital nomads and share skills. ( my Tech skills Definitely need improving ) I am currently learning all about promotion and instagram therefore if someone would like to share their skills with me I would be happy to learn, We have a good wifi connection here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 971362235316