Help me with some fun projects on my property in beautiful Topaz, Queensland.

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Ben. I'm well travelled and friendly. I have previously used Workaway as a workawayer, but this is my first time as a host. But I was a host on another travel website for a few years when I lived in New Zealand. I'm a filmmaker and media producer, and I am now setting up a small business which makes and sells fermented produce at markets.

    I have a few different projects planned which I want help with around this property. I'm setting up gardens and a large undercover growing tunnel for growing vegetables. I have built a pizza oven, and plan to mosaic that, so if anyone is feeling creative that should be fun. I Also have a dam on the property, and would like help in making it nicer to swim in.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am running a food business which converts vegetables into fermented products (sauerkrauts, pickles, hot sauces, ect), so you can learn how to make these products.

    I am also a professional media producer, so if you're interested to learn, I can show you different areas of media production (filming, photography, video and stills editing, audio recording and editing).

  • Help

    Help

    What I need help with is setting up gardens - building rock walls, weeding, mowing, watering. Building a greenhouse - basic carpentry, building raised garden beds, composting. General maintenance around the house and property.

    If you have building or gardening skills, then that is perfect. But it is also fine if you are willing to try and learn.

    Depending on your skills, I would occasionally like help on a few media projects too.

    Ideally I would like workawayers who can work independently.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is my house, which is lovely! You will have your own room and double bed.

    My house is on a large property 100+ acres, with a dam and creeks.

    Currently it is just me and my dog living in this house, but I am finding a flatmate now, so there will be more people living here.

    I also live next door to my family's farm, who come and visit almost every day.

    I will provide delicious food. I'm not vegetarian, but can cater for vegetarians/vegans. If you like to cook then maybe we can share recipes?

    Smokers welcome, but only outside please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is full of beautiful rainforests and waterfalls, so if you're interested in hiking then it is perfect. It is also close (1.5hrs) to cairns, so you can have a night out or go diving on the reef.

    There is a lot of wildlife around here if you are interested in animals. Platypus live in the creeks and dam on the property. There are also cassowarys, tree kangaroos, wallabies, bats, frogs, and other marsupials.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a super friendly dog. He loves people and dogs, I'm sure he would be fine with other pets too.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 969219218442