Help a retired couple with gardening and around their home in a rural area near Mayenne, France

Country

France

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in rural France near Mayenne, weare a retired couple, I worked in nursing,my husband in publishing, our house is a maison de maitre with a walled garden , we enjoy walking, swimming,word games ,gardening,we have cats, and a little dog, we have friends both english and french, and enjoy company , for dinners.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to learn/play croquet , this is the ideal place to chill and learn, Mayenne has many cultural and beautiful places to visit , museums ,roman sites, walks , great area for cycling, tour de France due through nearby village.canoeing on the rivers.
    Our house has a great library for study and quiet reading.
    If you want to understand rural France then starting here in the Bocage or bread basket of France a good place to start.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love some help with the garden , weeding and topiary.some house painting , and our wall needs some repair if poss.cementing.
    The topiary not imperitative , but could be fun. Cutting the lawn .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and french, husbands french being better than mine

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A suite consisting of bedroom ,with louge dining area, and ensuite loo and shower.
    All meals provided , breakfast , three course dinner, and picnics for outings when requested. Vegitarian meals on request.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have some bikes to lend , a bit old but servicable , lifts to and from train station, which is half an hr away. Company to cultural events if desired or lifts to places.there are local buses.
    The town of Mayenne is 13 km away , and riverside village of Ambriere les Vallees 3 km flat bike ride away.
    Smokers would be asked to not smoke in the house.
    We opened our garden in uk under the National Gardens Scheme or the yellow book as it is commonly called, which we enjoyed as a sociable way to raise money for medical charities.
    My husband sings in a local choir and concerts locally are good and varied.
    If you require privacy to study , you will have the space and time too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 max, 5 days

Host ref number: 968741832243