Help with some reno and garden projects in Cairns - the gateway to the tropics, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 47 times
  • Last activity: 02/12/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are dyed in the wool Queenslanders and have mountains of information on the Cairns area and the rest of Oz. I have traveled extensively and lived overseas for a number of years. I'm a full time shift worker in the health sector and my father lives with me in Cairns in Far North Queensland. We are less then 5km from the CBD and walking distance to a shopping centre and close to bus stops. We regard ourselves as being very relaxed, sociable and enjoy meeting people from all places and walks of life. The house is comfortable with a large vegetable garden, some fruit trees, a small pool, a fire pit and wood fired pizza oven. My main hobby is dog training, competitions, giving lessons and judging. I'm always happy to chat and advise about this. We are a meat eating household and I like to bake. We have 3 indoor/outdoor well-behaved dogs, an indoor cat and some chickens. We are mostly looking for someone to help for my dad, by lending a hand with renovations to his separate house, also in the neighbourhood. There may be some gardening as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cairns offers a huge range of activities and experiences being the gateway to the tropics... rainforest, the Great Barrier Reef etc. etc. We both have an interest in travel and world events, learning how things work and enjoy meeting people from different backgrounds and environments. I spent 3 years living overseas when I was younger and loved it, dad has travelled extensively throughout Australia.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help for my father by lending a hand with some renovations to the house. He has the skills, but an extra pair of hands is always welcome, so no buildings skills are needed (but would be very welcome). There may be limited gardening as well. Work is generally from around 8am to 12pm, which leaves the entire afternoon and weekends free for you to explore this delightful area of Oz. We are happy to be flexible in this regard.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will be provided with their own comfortable furnished room with a shared bathroom. We have cereals for breakfast, cold cuts/sandwich for lunch and one hot meal for dinner in the evening. We are meat eaters, enjoy a range of different cuisine and always happy to try new things. Actually, we really like to try new things so bringing your cooking skills into the kitchen would be welcomed. We will consider individual dietary needs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cairns is full of activities, we are happy to assist with some local transport, if and when it is possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a large fully fenced yard that will allow for a large van with access to power and water.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, we may be able to accommodate, on a case by case assessment.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 963225986376

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Join our Friendly Family with Kids and help around our home in Brisbane, Australia
Help with DIY, organising and house work in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia