Peaceful seaside sustainable farming and wilderness immersion on Northern Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active family who loves travel, now homesteading a diverse small holdings not-for-profit farm in a remote quaint seaside village on Northern Vancouver Island. We are grateful for the peaceful and scenic little seaside farm we call home and love to share that experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family of travellers, we love learning about others homes and experiences and sharing our adventures with visitors in our unique beautiful corner of the world. We are developing gardens and green house where we practice composting, vermiculture, hugalkulture, rotational grazing, micro orcharding, berry orcharding and various types of food preservation. We have goats, sheep, chickens, dogs and cats. We do our best to adhere to organic farming principles with plenty permaculture reference but are not certified. We also forage for wild foods like mushrooms and berries from the surrounding rain forest. Fishing, crabbing and shell fish harvesting is also directly off our front lawn. We do our best to feed ourselves from the food we have produced or foraged locally and preserved.

  • Help

    Help

    Our "To Do List" is long and diverse. It is a long, labour intensive process of homesteading 3 hectares of land. The farm is run as a not-for-profit demonstration farm. We host a number of local public and First Nation school tours on the farm to teach local children the importance of food security and food sustainability. This is a very enriching experience, as most of these children have never had exposure to food production or animal husbandry. This is rewarding for us to have our hard work and labour of love be a classroom for so many. We sure appreciate any help in pursuit of this objective.

    There is a portion of our garden used to support a developing Community Supported Agriculture program. This brings in a small income to help off-set the greater total operating costs. You will not be asked nor expected to work in this section. With that said, there is garden and animal husbandry chores, i.e. planting, weeding, composting, harvesting, fencing and food preservation in support our own family and visitors food security, if that is an interest.

    Additionally there is firewood gathering, wild foraging, vehicle maintenance, construction, general clean-up and maintenance work, etc. We can make use of most any skill brought to farm and home and love sharing our knowledge with others to develop new skills. We are constantly exploring new ideas and love to hear from others their ideas and knowledge.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is individual camping caravans, old but clean with a beautiful view onto the water. Workaways have a dedicated composting toilet, there is shared shower facilities for the moment but upgrades are in the immediate future. You are provided breakfast fixings for the caravan, lunch and dinners are traditionally eaten together in the family house, but there is flexiblity there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a remote small community and may not be a good fit for an urban-centric individual. This is a small farm and as such there are tasks which some people may consider "icky" (mucking out barns, compost management, etc). When the weather is nice it is stunning but we do live in a temperate rain forest, rain gear can sometimes be your friend. If wildlife viewing from your window, nature hikes, fresh and salt water fishing, remote surf beach exploration, wild craft foraging to name a few, interest you - we could be a great fit! We have canoes, kayaks and SUP's to play on right out our front door. Artistically minded folks have access to a pottery wheel, wood working tools, etc located in a large old shop on the property. There is a number of local museums in the area and a number of First Nation communities where cultural exchanges are possible.

    (Due to Covid-19 current transportation schedules maybe different) There is public bus service connecting our town to Port Hardy and Port McNeill. We are in close proximity to the ferry servicing the central and north coast of BC as well as the northern gulf islands ferry. There is a daily bus service to Port Hardy from the mid island and beyond.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a community wifi network with a weekly 10$ fee accessible from the guest caravans and a bandwidth limited wifi network at our home

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There are a couple of spots on property to park camper vans. We also have a large shop with a decent array of tools if your van requires some maintenance or upgrades.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 959453189883