Rita and Bruno's at Sintra, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children (9y old girl and a 5y old boy).
    Amoung other things I, Rita, have a small coop of vegan food cooking, and my partner Bruno is an architect and a researcher in regenerative architecture and design, and loves to work with wood.
    We homeschool our children, which means they are always around.
    We are vegans, on our land, we ask people to respect our decision.

    We are a 10 minute drive from the beach, 20m by bus from Sintra's village center, and 30m drive from Lisbon.
    We came to Sintra two years ago, to a piece of land where we built a small house. Right now there's not much here yet and that's why we would like your help.

    Since we moved i wanted to set up a vegetable permaculture garden, build a compost toilet and small outside kitchen, plant trees, make a wooden structure for the children to climb and play, work the land, and other little things that keep coming up but we had other priorities and challenges. Now we feel it's time but we need help.
    We aim to be more in harmony with our selfs and with nature.

    We would love to host pro-active (very important), creative, self motivated, open and good hearted, reliable and enthusiastic people that would want to work in the land, do wood work, build, etc.

    We are glad to have families coming also ut we need to talk about the conditions and expectations.

    Gratitude xx

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love to cook and love to learn more and share what i've learned so far about vegan food and probably education, some therapies, personal development.

    Bruno can share about regeneration of natural systems, sustainability, natural and ecological building.

    We are relatively close to Sintra center, with the amazing castles and palace, and the beautiful beaches. If possible we can give you a ride to some of the places around or if not possible for us we can help you getting there by public transportation.
    We are also close to Lisbon (15km) and Cascais (10km).

  • Help

    Help

    There is a lot to be done. Here are a few of the tasks we need help with:
    . wood work with Bruno
    . plant trees
    . build a compost toilet
    . set up an organic vegetable permaculture garden
    . other tasks that might come up

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a caravan, with two beds (a double and a single), on the land where you can sleep. During the hot months, if there's no room in the caravan we can consider people camping.
    There's a small compost toilet (dry toilet) inside the caravan but for shower it has to be inside the house. We ask for people to use organic and ecological products as we use the water from the showers and washing up mixed with clean water to water the plants.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small village 10 minute drive from Sintra, an historical village with castles and palaces and mountains, and from the beaches, there are a few around with great spots to surf.
    Also close to Cascais, 30 minute drive, which is also a very beautiful village with bars, restaurants, beach..
    Lisbon is 45 minute drive.
    Any of this places can be reached by public transportation also.
    Sometimes i can drive you somewhere you want to go or join us in our outings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 958479267565