Helping out in a beautiful manoir in rural France.



Favourited 424 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    This is a wonderful, peaceful and gentle place to spend time, to breathe clear air, to listen to the birds and hopefully to be creative! It's a restorative environment - but it is also pretty isolated.

    The main house is large but cosy and is largely renovated. There are always jobs (decorating etc) for those wanting inside time and any practical talents (plumbing, electrics, woodworking) etc can usually find a useful project.

    Outside is where the joy really starts - we have about 17 acres of woodland, paddocks and a lake. There's plenty of satisfying and fulfilling opportunities to get back to nature and there are plenty of tools (or toys) to help the process. We are committed to an organic approach, so no pesticides allowed! We have geese, ducks, chickens, sheep and trout. We also have two large male dogs who are very friendly (except to other male dogs) and one young female dog.

    Patrick (the owner) lives in London most of the time but loves spending time at the Manoir. Angela (Patrick's mother) lives in a separate farm house next door and normally acts as host. Angela will occasionally cook meals (and would love some in return) and will normally be happy to help with other needs.

    The local town is 5km away and you can explore the Brittany coastline, north, west and south, about 45 minutes from here by car.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help


    There is a variety of work, and we like people to do the things they enjoy and are good at as well as discovering new talents. There are also opportunities to do things with wood or stone for pleasure only, and several volunteers have left their creative mark and had fun doing so. Volunteers can be independent in the manoir and do their own cooking - food provided of course - or more sociable if they prefer; for most people a combination of the two seems to work well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (some French, a bit of Spanish)

  • Accommodation


    A choice of many different bedrooms (all with en-suite bathrooms). The house is warm, with underfloor heating on the ground floor, a wood-burning stove in the main sitting room and radiators upstairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a wonderful place to spend some time in complete peace - it is rural but the countryside is magical and it is a nature-lover's paradise. We are fairly isolated (which is part of the charm!) but those who come without transport can have use of a car for shopping and expeditions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No pressure - but about 5 hours a day would be great.

Host ref number: 958391932868

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more