Connect with local culture, nature and home-grown food in Jihočeský kraj, Czech Republic

  • Czech Republic
  • Favourited 227 times
  • Last activity: 4 Sep 2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am open-minded to people of all races, religions, and LGBT+ people.

    My name is Emily and I live on a Southern Bohemian homestead that was built in 1869. My mother recently passed away so I am managing the whole place on my own. I was born in the United States but grew up bilingual and decided to call this place home. The homestead itself is a beautiful historical building in a cozy village. Exposed beams, large archways, and traditional wood stoves give you a glimpse into times past. Our village has just 12 houses, so we are just a few steps away from the beautiful countryside.

    ¡Me encanta practicar mi español!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm primarily vegetarian and love to eat food from my own garden. I'm happy to teach and learn about music (I have several instruments), languages, food, and culture. Anytime I'm taking a trip to town or something similar I offer to bring workawayers along. :)

  • Help

    Help

    Work during summer and spring mainly includes weeding and watering the garden. If you're comfortable using a weedwhacker you can also help with that. Usually, there's a variety of other little projects to help with.

    Usually, workawayers help out for around 4hrs a day, including helping keep the house clean and cooking some days. :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love being able to practice and improve my Spanish and am interested in learning German and Russian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers have their own apartment with 3 bedrooms with private bathrooms, a kitchenette, and a dining room. There's wifi, a large yard, and in the summer there's a trampoline and a small pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Couples/friends are preferred but not necessary if you're ok living and working pretty independently. I'm always around and try to work with workawayers as much as possible, but I do live in a different part of the house and sometimes am busy with paperwork and other things. We'll meet for a hot lunch together every weekday and enjoy a cup of coffee or tea in the morning or afternoon.

    I have a dog and the location is dog friendly. I also have cats and chickens. There are ample trails to walk, run or bike and I usually have a bike to loan out. Nearby villages have stores, a post office, pubs, small museums, and lots of horseback riding opportunities. I recommend you plan trips to Zřícenina Helfenburk, Rozhledna Boubín, Hluboká nad Vltavou and Český Krumlov during your stay!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have solid wifi connection. I myself work on our website and teach over Zoom regularly.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Emily lived in a campervan for over a year, we welcome campers!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they can get along with our animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    flexible (max 25 hours)

Host ref number: 956684476749

Feedback (17)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)





















Help us with nature-people-art project in Polička, Czech Republic
Help in small language school near Brno, The Czech republic