A chance to be on an actual working farm, with sheep, cattle & horses in beautiful rural Buckinghamshire, UK.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a farmer, with a small family. We live in Buckinghamshire, around an hour from London and half an hour from Oxford. We farm livestock and run a small livery yard in a small village, that has a typical English pub and village shop but good road links to anywhere really. Our farm is set in a beautiful part of England and is very peaceful but not too far from the nearest town, which is about a mile away in Buckingham. There is loads to do around here, with cinemas, theaters, restaurants, hiking and sports.
    We are looking for someone to help us on our farm, with all our animals such as with lambing, hay making which involves driving equipment & tractors, working with the horses, general upkeep with the farm such as fixing fences, gateways, anything that has broken. It can be hard work but it if you love being outside, it can be so rewarding.
    It is probably essential that you know how to drive also, especially to help you see the local and national sites of the UK!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live very close to Oxford and London which are cities, all of those wishing to learn the culture of England will benefit from. We also are in a quaint English village. The farm isn't isolated and we have people visiting the farm on a regular basis and we would also want help with delivering hay to locals and so you have the opportunity to drive around the countryside. Also if you are interested in farming, we obviously offer hands on experience on working on an English farm. We have a pedigree cattle herd, sheep and horses and so offer a real range of farming, which makes everyday different.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    It depends on the time of year, as to what we will need help with. But some examples are lambing, calving, hay making - you will need to be able to drive a tractor but also hay stacking, working with the horses, mucking out the stables, hay deliveries and also general farm maintenance, such as fixing fences, gateways, anything that has broken on the farm. We may also have some building works that need doing, as we improve the farm and also gardening for the farm garden. There is loads and loads to do and it could literally be anything. Its not a boring world here!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Living in farm house. Bedroom has its own bathroom and tv. You are also welcome to eat meals with the family or cook your own, which ever you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off, you can spend visiting local places, there is a train station 8 miles away and buses. There are also lots of cycle routes etc. The nearest airport is 40 mins away and its really easy to get cheap flights into Europe, which we do on a regular basis. We personally love going into Oxford and London, as its so easy and we go there to eat out a lot or visit the theatre. We have young children and so we are generally always out and about, entertaining them and there is lots to do. Being in the centre of England, makes it easy to visit other places and no where is really that far away and we are probably in the best area for transport links.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 953996523723