Help me with my recycled house project in the heart of Healesville, in the famous Yarra Valley, Australia



Favourited 24 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Gorgeous property built out of recycled building materials in the heart of Healesville. This town is situated in the famous Yarra Valley.We have a lot to offer in the valley, we have wineries, sanctuary with exclusively australian animals,tourist railway, organic market, plenty of nature walks in the hills,galleries, maze,large dam etc. The property is 1 minute walk to the main street/shops area.

    I'm looking for people to help me with my exciting new project, which is built out of 97% recycled building materials, and then turned into a social enterprise initiative including studio spaces, cooking classes, art, music, and other interesting, things with the overall aim of social cohesion and sustainability.

    I'm very passionate about this project, my goal is to create something interesting and different, to benefit many different types of people within the local community.

    This project is at the early stages (i feel that i have another 12 months to complete the building), and I'm looking for help to continue building, and finish the landscaping, hopefully doing aquaponics etc.

    Building experience is preferred but not necessary. Anybody who is eager to work will fit right in.
    I have five children (four boys and one girl) my oldest son is living here with me and another person as a boarder
    I am currently living in the building which is not fully
    finished but is very comfortable.
    I would prefer a non smoker but it's not fully necessary but not in the house of course.
    We are looking for people who are willing to work and not afraid to get their hands dirty, which includes sharing with cooking skills and generally keeping the house tidy.
    We are very easy going and live a healthy lifestyle, so we don't eat crap.
    We are currently Couchsurfers, but are currently too busy to do that now. We need help ourselves.
    The photos were taken five years ago, the building is mostly complete and is very different and exciting ill update to the latest photos asap.
    cheers steve

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workaway people will get a great taste of Australian lifestyle in a rural town, and also can have a taste of city life because Healesville is only an hour from Melbourne central. We also have beautiful countryside here as well as natural bush, and the world famous Healesville Sanctuary which specializes in australian animals only is just around the corner. It is a must see for every tourist coming to this country.
    I'm hoping they get a taste of our humour and sense of fun, because we can have a different style to other cultures.

  • Help


    I need help with so many things that it's hard to pinpoint exactly everything i need, but my priorities are:- carpentry skills, permaculture knowledge/design, gardening skills, plumbing, web design, legal knowledge, cooking, selling excess stuff on the net, organizational skills etc. I could go on.....
    I think a good grasp of spoken english would be necessary to communicate easily, and most important, to be excited in playing a part in this project, no matter how small.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom and bathroom, I will pay for most of the food except unusual tastes or overly expensive ingredients. A preference will be given to vegeterians and non smokers.

    I like to share the cooking a lot of the time and share ideas, also the food shopping as part of the cultural exchange.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To come from Melbourne, it is easy to catch a train and then I can pick you up from the nearest station (which is 20min away).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 953874216432