Help us on our property and add some diversity and atmosphere that we love and truly appreciate in Ironbank, Australia



Favourited 74 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    The Pole family are the pioneer family for Ironbank here in SA. Owned and run by the Pole's for over 40 years, our place is now managed by Aaron and Georgia, an English couple who are permanent residents here in Australia.

    Bill, Esma and their Son Graham have together run the property, but now it is Aaron and Georgia's turn at taking it on - transforming it into a place where everyone is welcome from all walks of life!

    Having 18 months experience working in an award-winning hostel in Albany, it was time to create a space where everyone was welcome, amenities were clean and well looked after, and most of all, people felt at home.

    As you can imagine, this is a BIG game and we need your help to make it happen. Volunteers from around the world add a diversity and atmosphere that we love and truely appreciate. You will be stunned by how close we are to the city with the beautiful land that we live on!

    Georgia and I live on site and call the main buildings and surrounding area our home, you will be more than welcome to share that with us.

    We require 3 hours work per day, with 2 days off per week. We provide you with free home-made pancakes, which we also cook for all of our guests as well, a great opportunity to chat with people from around the world. We will be as flexible as possible with when you have your days off. We love to cook and spend time with the people who share our home, when time allows! This place is solely run by Georgia and I, so the more help the merrier!

    Thank you for taking the time to read about us, and we hope to hear from you soon!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Surrounded by bush land, native wildflowers only found on our land and all the koalas and kangaroos you could wish for there is always something to see; or else head to some of the amazing attractions in the hills, explore the 'city of churches' and the beaches just off the tram line from Adelaide.
    We continuously have lots of different people from different walks of life coming to stay, so there is always something new to learn from cultures around the world. We are more than happy to work with people on their English skills, and anything else they may need.

  • Help


    There is lots to do as we have only just opened and are still getting things organised, any help will be greatly appreciated with no specific skills required as I am always around to offer direction and help, although of course any specialised skills you may have would be highly regarded. There is lots of cleaning, restoring, repairing, and renovating to do, as-well as the general upkeep of the business and land. With so much space and kilometres of walking trails there is always something to do ;)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have a bunkbed in one of our guest rooms reserved only for volunteers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours per day 5 days per week

Host ref number: 953523182477