Housesitting, Gardening & Much More in the Beautiful Kootenay's!

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our small family homestead for this summer season. We are a family of four, with two children aged 8 & 10. Our 5 acres of cedar forested land is located 24 km outside of Nelson & 17 km outside of Castlegar, BC. where we strive to live holistically and in harmony with the natural elements that surround us. We are stewards of our land by cultivating our gardens with organic vegetables, fruit, herbs and medicinal plants. Along with raising organic chickens and turkeys we have two house pets, an indoor/outdoor cat and a Husky/Malamute dog. We strive to practise permaculture techniques as much as possible in order to create a holistic way of life for our family.

    We are an active family that comes and goes a lot over the summer season and we are looking for either one person or a couple to come and care for our domesticated animals, livestock and gardens while we are away and to help with other projects and maintenance of land while we are here. On our land there is a fully equipped cabin that is suitable for one person or a couple to stay in while you are here.

    I will provide organic fresh vegetables, farm fresh eggs and food staples any other food items you are in need of will be your responsibility to buy.

    You will have access to mountain bikes, privacy, yoga deck and easy access to hiking trails and swimming spots in and around our home. If this resonates with you please reach out with a message and we can have a chat!

    Thanks for considering,
    Meghan & Tribe

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If spending time in nature and being connected to the land and its abundance is something that resonates with you then staying on our land will allow for this type of connection. Caring for small livestock can be a wonderful introduction to living sustainably and tending to a variety of medicinal, herbal and vegetable plants can create a nurturing connection.

  • Help

    Help

    We are asking that you spend a few hours (3-4) each day caring for the animals & livestock, hand watering some of the gardens, weeding, composting maintenance & greenhouse watering.

    There are chickens and turkeys who are housed in separate areas and have different needs, mostly they are very low maintenance, needing fresh water, egg collection and feed bins replenished when needed.

    Our pets will need to be let in and out of our home, fed with fresh water daily.

    Our main vegetable garden is on a watering system but will need to be lightly weeded and you're welcome to eat from whatever is producing. The remainder of the gardens include herbs, medicinal plants and perennials will need to be hand watered every few days, maybe more depending on the weather. The greenhouse is on a watering system also, so will only need to be lightly weeded and checked in on for temperature.

    Our compost will need to be turned and watered.

    When we are here there are a few building projects I would like help with, constructing a berry trellis, finishing a permaculture fence and creating a driftwood pergola.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a fully furnished cabin in close proximity to our home that will accommodate 1 person ( maybe 2 friends, if comfortable sleeping together (or one on a mattress on the floor) or a couple. There is fully equipped kitchen & living area on the main floor. Stairs lead to an upper floor where there is ample space for yoga or stretching, queen size bed and 3 piece bathroom with hot water on demand. Sliding doors access an upper outdoor deck to access lounging and hanging laundry.

    We will supply all bedding and towels, along with kitchen necessities so that you have everything you need to be comfortable. I am open to providing the basic food staples which we can discus upon arrival, I will provide organic vegetables, farm eggs and you can eat from the garden. All reminding food items will be your responsibility.

    You are welcome to use our laundry in our home but ask that you hang wet clothes to dry outside on line.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are walking/hiking/biking trails all in and around where we live. There are swimming spots close to our home and we're happy to lend our mountain bikes for you to use. There is a bus that travels along the Hwy, 5 minutes from our home that will get you into Nelson, Castlegar & up the Valley on Hwy 6.

    With us being away it is very important for us to have someone who is willing to care for our space as they would care for their own home. We live in a quiet area with amazing neighbours who are willing to support if needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours/day (away) 5 hours/day (here)


Host ref number: 952573964274