Come and help us on our rural Niagara hobby farm in Fenwick, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a semi-retired professional couple (environmental management field) in our late 50’s with a 10 acre rural property near Niagara Falls, Canada.
    We love to travel and have been across Europe, Thailand and USA.
    Our property is a mix of perennial and vegetable garden, cultivated field (willow plantation and hayfield as well as woodland/pond. There are two house cats and a bunny in residence who love attention but have no other animals. We have lots of hobbies and projects on the go including beekeeping and basket making.
    Note that the neighbourhood is very quiet and approximately 4 km from town -there is no public transportation . Bicycles are available for use.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workwayers can learn about all types of gardening as well as growing and harvesting willow for basketmaking. You can also learn some basketry techniques if time allows. Tony is also an avid beekeeper and would love to share his knowledge with anyone!
    I am also a knitter and quilter would love to share my skills.

    We have Dutch background (parents immigrated from the Netherlands to Canada) and Tony is somewhat fluent in Dutch

  • Help

    Help

    For April/May 2020 we are looking for someone to help with renovating our perennial and vegetable garden. This will include moving plants, improving the soil with compost, manure etc and some planting. We also require assistance with the planting of new willow cutting and sorting of the willow branches that were harvested in the winter so that they can be ready for the drying shed.
    We have applied with our local conservation group for assistance with improving our property with more plantings suitable for wildlife (bees, butterflies, deer, etc) and would like some help with that project assuming we get approvals in place.
    In June/July 2020 we will be working on a new back deck for our home some if you have any carpentry or building skills this project may be of interest.
    We always have other projects including, general garden maintenance, some assistance with beekeeping as well as home improvement projects. The projects will depend on the time of year.
    Household maintenance projects would mostly include indoor painting.
    We would be looking for help 4-5 hours per day, 5 days per week and are flexible which days.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom available with a queen bed. This would suit a single person or possibly a couple. A bathroom would be available for exclusive use by the workawayer.
    Meals can be flexible, you can cook your own or we could cook for you. We generally follow a whole food diet with low carbs so you would have tell us what you would like us to cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location in the Niagara Peninsula is approximately 20 minutes from Niagara Falls and 35 minutes from Niagara on the Lake. This area is very popular with tourists for sightseeing, wineries, breweries and many events spring to fall. We would be happy to show our workawayers the surrounding areas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 952313437246