Help me with developing a permaculture/sustainable farm in Baralaba, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    heyy there, my name is maitland and i am 25 years old from central queensland. i have spent 3.5 of the last 6 years travelling around the world, alot of my time was spent in latin america , learning spanish and portuguese, with focus on spending time with the locals and getting to know the culture. In my travels i have done alot of workaways, and they always have been some of my favourtie parts of travel and when i am not travelling i am here working on the family farm where we have also have had almost 100 workaways across the last 7 years. i really like to learn new things from people from aound the globe aswell as share what i have to offer. I am really into the healthy life style, healthy eating, exersice, and yoga etc. in 2019 my parents decided to retire and we downsized the family bussiness, and they have since left the farm, leaving my sister and myself in charge. i have just recently returned from travelling and have deceided to start up a permiculture sustainable living type farm setup here. we have goats , sheep, cows, chooks, dogs, and horses and soon we will have some piggies. as well as all the native animales that live in this part of australia, such as kangaroos, emus, dingos etc. everything here is run organicly, free ranged, and pasture fed. at the moment i am just starting getting the garden going and a few buildng projects. I am very open for new ideas and things that we could create together, we have 2500acres of space to experiment and explore.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    i have been travelling alot around the world and have also had alot of culture exchange through workers here on the farm, i think it could be a great place to exchange ideas, and show you a bit about life in outback australia, on an organic farm.

  • Help

    Help

    So at the moment, pretty much looking for people who want to come and share experience and knowledge or anyone who is enthusiastic and wants to learn. Im open for new ideas and any projects people would like to start.

    help could vairy from building garden beds, to composting, feeding animals, helping me build things, or even helping me with my french or portuguese. i am very open minded and relaxed.

    Anything that we get on farm is to be shared :) , meat, cheese,eggs, some vegitables, some fruits, herbs etc. and i will supply some staples, flour, rice, potatoes

    i am very flexiable and open for conversation, if you have any dramas or questions.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    type of accommodation could vary from your own little flat we call the donga (nothing fancy, but own bathroom , air con etc.) or theres your own bedrooms available in the main house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    the farm is quite big so plenty of places to explore, being in country australia there is also alot places to visit in the region such as gorges, rivers and creeks etc. i would be happy to take people camping on the weekends or on hikes. (some things could be a few hours drive away) i also have a slack line set up, and like to do yoga etc. in my free time. also my sister has around 8 horses, and one beautiful little foal (baby horse) and she would be more then happy to take you for a ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3/4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 951535767241