Welcoming travellers to come stay Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for helper in Central Victoria. Short or long term accommodation offered in return for household and garden cleaning and maintenance during coming spring and summer. Only about 15 hours of work required weekly from Monday to Friday or negotiable. This is a relaxed, friendly home where company is welcome.

    I am a retired Interior Designer living in central Victoria in the gold fields of Castlemaine. Visitors usually come here to stay a few days or more to escape the craziness of a big city.
    l offer my visitors a comfortable home with private guest bedroom and bathroom and use of all household facilities. It's much better and cheaper than staying in hostels.
    There are many things to see and do in my area that are not available in Melbourne. Many kangaroos and other wildlife with lots of nature walks for hiking.
    Castlemaine is also the hot rod capital of Australia so you will see many vintage cars on the roads sometimes downtown is full of them.
    There's also weekly and monthly open markets for buying fresh produce, clothing and arts and crafts.
    Castlemaine has a strong arts community and a great art gallery in the centre of town.

    It also has great transport to Melbourne and other local towns and cities such as Bendigo.
    In return for full accommodation l ask visitors to help with maintenance work in my large garden just a few hours a week. It's not hard or heavy work and plenty of time to relax and enjoy other activities.
    We share 3 meals a day and at least once a week go out for dinner someplace. There's also a good cinema in town that also have live bands for those who like to go to concerts.
    All in all, it's one of the best areas close to Melbourne to come stay short or long term. l like meeting people of all nationalities and have had many come stay from all parts of the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit to improve their English, learn some gardening techniques particularly from this part of Victoria. Learn about the history when thousands of people came here to look for gold in the 19th century some became extremly wealthy. Also enjoy all the natural environment of hiking, climbing, cycling and swimming. It's a lifestyle very different from staying in a crowded hostel in a noisy, busy city.

  • Help

    Help

    In summer, watering the garden daily, pruning a few trees, trimming hedges and low level plants, discussing where to locate new plants and visiting plant nurseries together to help select. The work is enjoyable cause it's just light duties.
    Some other help includes some minor painting and help to design and make small garden items such as seats and screens. l try to make the projects as interesting as possible with many coffee breaks cause l like to take it easy.😊

    This is not a farm so the work is minor better suited to short stay if two people or if wanting longer stay subject to discussion with host to come to some agreement. Prefer males due to jobs such as climbing ladders to prune trees, digging and cleaning gutters which requires more strength and stamina.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    l have a 3 bedroom house with 2 bathrooms, open kitchen,dining and living area. Also another outside sitting area to chill with lounge furniture and dining table. Perfect place for meals, reading or even being alone. The house is very modern and clean with full facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I've had many visitors come stay mostly through Couchsurfing. They have all enjoyed the experience of staying here. Some stayed a few months even.
    l am a relaxed easy going and broad minded man and l like people who enjoy good conversations. There's a friendly relaxed atmosphere in my home and the lovely garden makes it even more relaxing. My dream is to make my garden a small paradise outside of Melbourne with help and care of friendly visitors. l also like to keep in touch with people who come to stay with me because friendship is very important to me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Free day every 2 days approx. 25 hours work weekly.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 947899929376