Be part of our family and help with animals and in the garden, Pays de la Loire, France

Country

France

Favourited 303 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/09/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are now separated, Arnaud lives alone in the big family house, some weekeeds and on holidays our youngest child comes.


    The property where we live is quite big (2 ha), in the open country, near a beautiful state forest.
    There's animals (horses, chicken, rabbits, llamas, goats, pigeons, cats, salamanders), a big vege garden, but it's not a farm.
    The food is healthy, mostly organic (not 100%), a lot from the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People can learn french, being part of our family life. Our region is in the loire valley : many castles, many forests. Saumur and Angers can be reached by bus.

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly need help to :
    - feed the animals in he morning
    - help in the garden : weeding, preparing the beds, cleaning around the animals
    - cook (but you're not expected to be THE cook)
    - do the seasonal jobs (crack walnuts when it's raining, weed in spring time, water the garden in summer time, prepare the fruits to preserv them at fruits season ...)
    - help Arnaud renovating the house (very very rarely) or doing some project outdoors.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's a small house, nice and quiet, in front of the principal house. There's a tap in there, but no bathroom. The bathroom is in the principal house. Nothing to cook inside the small house : everything is in the big house.
    We provide sheets, blankets, towels.
    In winter time, we offer a room in the principal house, but there's a wood heating in the small house.
    No wifi in the small house, very bad coverage for mobile phone on the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You must be prepared to have some lonely time in the day, except when Arnaud is at home (what happens often now).
    The place is quite remote. If you prefer the life of a city and don't like seeing almost nobody, it's maybe not for you. But if you like to walk, cycle, beeing on your own in a quiet place, it may be a good place for you.
    If you like to ride bicycle, you can enjoy having trips around. The small town isn't very far.
    There's also the possibility to visit Angers or Saumur (buses in Baugé).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours/day, 5 days/week, glexible
























Host ref number: 945192186678