Enjoy off-grid, strawbale house living on the beautiful Bay of Fundy, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a little family of 2 (mother and 5 year old) who enjoy meeting new people for mutual sharing, growth and broadening perspectives. We live in rural Nova Scotia near the beautiful Bay of Fundy. We love nature and a wide range of outdoor activities. We garden, run nature programs, swim in the Bay (brrrrr) and love to share local healthy food.

    With a busy Spring and Summer ahead - running a Forest School - we would love some help with a variety of tasks (gardening, home repairs/basic maintenance, fort building, house cleaning, cooking, child care, community projects, etc.) If you're willing to pitch-in in a variety of small (and possibly random) ways, and are fun loving and kind we are keen to hear from you.

    Accommodation is in an off-grid strawbale house in the woods. Your closest neighbours 2 horses and a pony - horse back riding and horse tending part of of the package, if interested. Lots of opportunity for outdoor recreation in the area. At least one meal a day provided - maybe more depending on work agreed upon. A great opportunity if you're looking to unplug for a bit and enjoy rural life on the Atlantic coast. Families welcome. Your own vehicle is strongly recommended (we are not on a transit route). 7-10 day minimum commitment requested.

    We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German and English speaking family that has been living in Nova Scotia since 1976. Widely travelled internationally (speaking some French and Portuguese) we are comfortable with people from all walks of life and are excited to show you our little piece of paradise. We can have campfires on the beach, take you for hikes on a variety of trails, share local food and food ideas and connect you to areas and topics of interest (we love fostering connection).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our needs are varied so this opportunity could suit many skill sets. Attitude is more important than apptitude for this arrangement. Priorities would be: help with basic maintenance around home and garden, but also cooking and house cleaning, possibly some child care. Also gardening and canning, depending on the when you're here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are curious about languages and will try to learn words and phrases in your language. We especially welcome German speakers - its helpful for us to have someone to practice with. French too. But we welcome all languages into our home.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Imagine falling asleep to the sound of a babbling brook inside a cozy strawbale cottage situated in a clearing inside a mixed forest with grassy and mossy lanes to wander through. You'll have your own private space - hosts live 4 km away on another property. You'll be off-grid with solar electricity. Composting toilet, and no indoor plumping. A great place to unplug and unwind (i.e. no internet at the strawbale house, but available at hosts' home). Ideal for those looking to unplug and connect to nature. Food can be provided - depends on working arrangements (note the various options possible).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like nature and exploring forest and beaches, this is the spot for you. There are plenty of trails within easy reach including along the rugged Bay of Fundy coastline. From the Annapolis Valley there is also easy access to vibrant communities and lots of site seeing (nature, heritage, farms and eateries, cultural experiences). We have horses too, so if riding and horse care is your thing that could be arranged (depends on experience). Bikes available - may need some attention. Your own vehicle is highly recommended. We are 15 km from the nearest town and no public transit. Occasional trips to town can be arranged but your mobility would be very limited without a vehicle.

    We have a busy life running a Forest School but we prioritize time for being outside, exploring the beaches and trails, and connecting with community. We enjoy sharing food and sharing work - life is simply better with healthy food, good company and a helping hand. We believe we all have things to learn from one another and we prioritize deep listening, kind words and having fun.

    Serious inquiries only, that includes reading the whole posting. If you have made it to the end please begin your reply with these words - Nature is always teaching - so I know you read it all.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Small camper van can be accomodated.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, well-behaved pets welcome. Clean-up after them expected.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 944798825591