Gardening and maintenance help at our horse rescue on the island of Oahu, Hawaii, US

Country

United States

Favourited 2765 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    94  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We welcome volunteers to assist on our horse rescue acreage on the island of Oahu. Animal care, housekeeping, grounds maintenance, painting and tree/garden watering are the priority tasks. We have been blessed to host approximately 200 wonderful volunteers from around the world and look forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach English, music, cooking, animal and plant care.

  • Help

    Help

    There are organic plants to seed and fertilize, weeds to pull, animals to nurture and tasks (cleaning, painting, building) to be done to maintain and improve the ohana. Respectful and loving treatment of the animals and the aina are a priority. We value culture and language exchange.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom and/or futon shared bathroom. Laundry facilities available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers have enjoyed kayaking, snorkeling, learning scuba, and all ocean sports. We often go to the beach with ukuleles, guitars, songs and stories to share the evening sunset. Kaena Point is a nearby hike through a wildlife sanctuary. Dolphins are spotted daily near the house and whales are in season December through April. There are many hikes along the ocean or in the mountains for all abilities. The Polynesian Cultural Center on the North Shore teaches about Pacific island cultures. The tourist center of Waikiki is a 90 minute bus ride away, UBER is popular transportation on Oahu and we are happy to provide a ride into Honolulu when we occasionally go into town. We like in Makaha, "the real Hawaii" and are respectful of nature and culture preservation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a strong wifi connection and private rooms for remote work.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Hawaii quarantine laws make it difficult to bring pets...

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours with 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


































































Host ref number: 944758117615