Help on a homestead, food forest and help with animals in Jacksonville, FL, USA



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello, My name is Jeannie, We are a Christian family living in Jacksonville fl. We have 9 acres on the river. We do have a highway near our property so it can be a bit loud. We are close to everything. Beaches are 15-20 min away. Downtown 15 minutes lots of things to do in Jacksonville. We have a mobile home across from me 2br/2bath. We offer either couple, friends or two females in one room and or two males in another room. I never put females and males that don’t know each other in the same room.
    The mobile home has full electric, AC, heat, full kitchen. Internet spotty. You may have to walk to main house for internet.

    We also offer a vintage camper near the river. Think camping. (rustic camper, outdoor shower, compost toilet and outdoor/indoor cooking.

    We have horses, chickens, a cow, dogs, milking goats and sheep. I am just starting a food forest. We have lots of fruit trees and lorganic gardens. You can fish right off the dock. We have kayaks for you to use. We also make our own soap and love art projects. We welcome you to come along with us.

    I would love to host someone that isHandy at building. A healthy type person/people. Someone that enjoys organic living. Gardening, Juicing, healthy cooking. (we eat all types of food) Will NOT except heavy drinkers or any drugs!

    I would love help with the food forest, cleaning, building things such as decks, fence work, painting, raking leaves, shoveling horse poo, weeding beds, with us ...,We can teach you to milk a cow or goat:)

    Everyone food preference is different. If I have extra I will alway offer you to eat with us. I do supply you with food for you to cook.
    You can eat our chicken eggs, veggies in the garden mostly lettuce, beets,beens,tomatoes,cucumbers. greens, herbs, also I provide staples such as rices, beans, pasta and bread. I almost always have breakfast for you already cooked.

    Currently I have paid people also working here building barns and such.

    Can’t wait to meet some more amazing people!
    Enjoy your travels:)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience an American family. Learn gardening, Projects. Farming.

    Looking forward to welcoming you to Florida.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    20 hrs worth of help. I Would love to host someone that enjoys homesteads. Milking cow or goats, cooking, cleaning maybe ride the horses.

    Outdoor projects like help with fence work, raking leaves, shoveling horse poo, keeping up the pool and gardens.

    You would need to complete a background check as for the safety of my children. I would enjoy someone that would like to stay for maybe a month or longer.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Sign language (American): Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange

  • Accommodation


    You would have a small (max two people) vintage camper to stay in and an outdoor bathroom with hot water shower and compost toilet.

    I am working on building an outdoor kitchen. You can eat any food we are cooking or we grow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to do in Jax fl.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You would have Wi-Fi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have full hook up.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 129573488814

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.2)

Communication: (4.2)

Help with various projects on our family permaculture homestead and gardens near Union Mills, NC, USA
Forest, garden and construction work in the Finger Lakes of upstate New York, USA