Join me on a beautiful and rustic farm and help with replanting trees in Ceder Pocket, QLD, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 7 times
  • Last activity: 18/08/2022

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Replanting trees on my degraded farm. Some of the trees are big enough to be sawn into timber. I also do a little writing and have a philosophical attitude to life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience what I call, rustic Australiana and how to appreciate nature. I also believe humans need a better understanding of nature. Here they can learn about the growing of trees. I like to tell visitors that Europe has 67 species of trees while Australia has over 5000! I also usually have some sort of building project on the go as well.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a beautiful and rustic place where nature is appreciated. I purchased my farm many years ago in a cleared and degraded state with the intention of replanting it with trees. Over the years, I have done so and some of them are now big enough for me, with my sawmill to cut a few of them down and saw them up for timber. A beautiful and sustainable way to make a living. Trees, forests and timber are one of the ways that the planet can be saved.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitors usually stay in the spare room in the house. There is also available a comfortable but rustic grannie flat/converted dairy behind the house, a small remote hut at the end of a walking track and even a jungle camping cave. We usually share meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I host the occasional visitor and I like to give them the opportunity to have a closer relationship with nature. I also have a philosophical attitude to life and have even done a bit or writing on this subject. If you are interested, I can even tell you where they are on line. Although visitors might do a bit of work to help me on occasions, I also like visitors who have some project such as writing a book, doing art, or studying, perhaps even English. Can I give my attitude to work? 1, only work when you feel like it. We are naturally productive and like doing things anyway. 2, always work as slowly as possible. The idea is that ever moment in life needs to be enjoyed. 3, if you want to sit and have a rest due to the heat, do so because one good idea can transform a life from drudgery to optimism.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 943958654255

Photos

Feedback