Come and learn about sustainable living and Australian culture, explore the amazing beaches and rainforests we are surrounded by and improve your English in Currumbin, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live by the Currumbin creek, 5 min from some for the most beautiful beaches of Australia, south of Burleigh Heads, a fantastic location for surfers and beach lovers. You will have your own room at a beautiful house with a perma-culture garden. We are keen to share with you everything that the Gold Coast has to offer.

    I am a single mum and work as a marine scientist/ biologist. My girls are very warm and love meeting new people. They are active and imaginative and love the outdoors, and doing crafts. They love spending time on the beach surfing and swimming, riding their bikes along the beautiful coastal paths, and playing music. They also love learning about other countries and culture and they will definitely be keen to help you with your English skills in return of language lessons from your own country.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We had a number of helpers from many different countries already, that had some lovely times and memories with us. They learnt about sustainable living, they gained childcare experiences, learned about Australian culture, explored the amazing beaches and rainforests we are surrounded by, improved their English, and brought back their friends and families to visit.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a lovely, honest and mature girl or a couple that loves children, to come and stay with us for 2 weeks or longer as part of our family, and enjoy the beach and Australian lifestyle. Housework and childcare is the primary focus but any help with our ecoprojects, and permaculture garden will be also very appreciated.

    I am looking for a responsible and mature girl/ young woman or a couple to help me, being a single mum. with looking after my two girls and be part of our young Australian family. We leave at a fantastic beach location at the Gold Coast, Australia. My girls are aged 8 & 11 yrs old, both at school during the day (8.30am - 3pm)., so you will have plenty of spare time to explore the surroundings.

    You will need to be able to drive the girls to and from school so a manual driving license is a must. If your have your own car is an advantage but not absolutely necessary. You will need to have some experience looking after children and be confident enough to look after them on your own overnight at occasions, as I may have to go away for work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish, greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room either in the main house or at a shed / granny flat conversion, depending what is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is local and frequent public transport, both train and busses so is easy for you to explore. Cafes, shopping, nightlife is all at your doorstep, as well as amazing nature and wildlife. The Indigenous / Aboriginal cultural centre is 15 min away from us by bus so you can learn about aboriginal culture and art.

    The Currumbin wildlife sanctuary is around the corner as well as the local conservation council (GECKO) if you would like to get involved with local conservation projects and learn about the Australian wildlife fauna and flora. The whale migration is also in full swing at the moment so is a great time to watch whales from out local beach just 10 min walk from our house.

    We are surrounded by nightmarkets, local music, art galleries etc..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 347444333128