Come and help with my son in beautiful Sicily, Italy




Favourited 281 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    In Noveber I will be alone with my little three years old son and I have a lot of work to do.I have to participate to a festival(1 -11 november) in the old city center with my english books stall offering storytelling and some activities to children.So I urgently need someone who can help me with this and staying with my son and preparing the stall, maybe driving , and also assuring that the rest of the life still go on (preparing meals cleaning) We sure will have a lot of fun!Other events maybe will come.

    We are Micòl (46), Arturo (13), Cosimo (10)and Amir (3 ).

    We believe that , as Michel Odent stated, "You cannot change the world if you don't change the childbirth" and we suggest also the way of educating children.
    So our almost wild land is a supporting space for women children and men to reconnect with Mother Earth and to experiment non directive education.

    I work as a doula and I would spend a lot of my time unschooling my kids i.e. playing exploring and similar.My dream is that my small piece of land becomes a beautiful garden full of flowers,fruits and secret spots where to hide in peace.
    I work also as Usborne Indipendent Organiser so I participate and orgnise evento as storytelling, workshops, in schools, festivals and so on to sell books and take contacts for future works.

    We live in a small and simple house in the hill on Cassibile, 10km from siracusa, near the "Riserva Naturale di Cavagrande del Cassibile".
    Details of the works we would like to do are below.Apart from this we consider 'cleaning' something that is on everyone who lives the house.

    We have water only from the rain so we ask to our hosts to be very careful in using it.
    We like to travel and we love to share with other people our experiences.We love to host the world in our family also because we are an unschooling family so we are grateful that our kids can learn from life and not from the books.
    We want to host people:
    -who understand that we are sharing the house so we prepare the meals and we clean common spaces together or with turns
    - who tries to respect and use carefully food, water, electricity by not wasting them

    Italian speakers are very much welcomed from my kids!!!
    We don't smoke and prefer to host no smokers.

    We are very curious about other cultures so we will be glad if you want to share our life when not working and at the same time we will manage to give you your free and independent time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to involve the workers in all aspects of our life....acting really as a family so I guess this can be a good experience for both parts

  • Help


    I'm a single mum with 3 kids so I really need that the person who comes is able to perform the work requested.I know that everyone has his/her cultural luggage to share and creativity is a good thing but I wasted a lot of time and money and energy with persons coming with no will of understanding our needs.


    At the moment (october ) The thing I need most is someone who helps me with the maintenance of the house and for staying with the little one while I'm working.

    I've been ill for some months so my house has not been take care of properly so I need someone to help me cleaning all to start a new life!!! :-)

    wood for the winter
    maintenance of the paths

    If you have a particular ability specify it when apply.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    italiano ,english, espanol

  • Accommodation


    The most of the time you have a private room. In the summer it happens that I can rent the room so you can use my old van to stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Access to the natural park of" cavagrande del cassibile".(walking by home)
    10 minutes for the nearest beach (by car).
    :buses for Siracusa and Noto.We live 5 km from the bus stop.We can lift you there or better we can organize our activities to move only once a day with the car (maybe less).
    you can enjoy the beach also in winter, baroque architecture in Noto Scicli Modica (UNESCO site).
    Ancient Greek culture in Siracusa.
    In siracusa and Catania everything typical of the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    We expect 5 hours a day with flexiblity from both sides, max 25 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 943645926647