Be part of change for Malawi, Africa

Country

Malawi

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a Canadian living in Malawi, Africa. I have been studying the culture for a number of years now in relation to movement patterns and cause of injury based on daily activities as well as cultural expectations. We are now registered as a non-profit and building education and awareness in the communities about cause of injury from habitual movement patterns and alternatives movement patterns to prevent these issues. We also look at home care for chronic limitations by training local volunteers in basic rehabilitation assessment and treatment.
    All our training is implemented through biblical principles and cultural perspectives. No donations are given to the community but for change to be instilled is through self motivation of the desired impact it has in the long term.

    I stay in Northern Malawi along the lake shore. It's a warm climate which often welcomes swims in the lake after a day in the village or behind the computer! Malawi is a very peaceful and friendly country that I have enjoyed and continue to.
    Myself personally, I was a massage therapist by trade. My heart is for elderly people and care of those bedridden; especially in remote locations. Right now the work has added in more of an occupational therapy/physio need as I am building on the needs communicated by the village for a long term sustaining.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    Other
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a chance to really engage from the infancy of a program. Forward thinkers with fresh ideas are welcome. Someone who likes to problem solve will be a great asset as well as having the initiative to see a need and find solutions to fill it. If you want to be told what to do minute by minute, this may not be a fit for you.
    As it is a young development, there is opportunity to really engage with the community and learn and hear from their voice. To see and experience life as they are.
    As I've shared, all that I am building and studying is quite a new concept. As rehabilitation itself is a slow growing road here, majority of focus is on disability and primary patient care (post injury or HIV related), going into prevention and chronic has brought a whole new approach to the community and process. It's great to observe the community learn something new and together build ideas that can benefit their own lives!

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for an individual or couple to support with photography and videography. Capturing the activities on the ground and potentially creating a promo clip for donors and awareness.
    Someone who has a way with words. We are currently finalizing our first implementation and based on the outcomes and stats, now is the time to get some proposals written. This would require some time together digging through the concept and organizing the data to be used in relevance.
    Lastly, we are starting to look at doing exercise classes in the community. This will be 30mins of movement and stretch with a primary focus of overall physical function and decreasing low back limitation. I have plenty of exercise and fitness knowledge, but the developing of basic routines to teach our volunteers would be a huge advantage.

    All we are doing here in fresh concepts and beginning from a grassroots/pioneer level. We are still working through the eds and flows. As the UN and World Health Organization have just highlighted rehabilitation and preventable injury as two main priorities in the sustainable development goals for 2030, I believe we are on an exciting path to open that door.

    Focusing in remote communities increases this process as majority of organizations focus to the more accessible areas. I want to engage where the health support is least and for those most challenged to move beyond the confines of their home.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, chitonga

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a 3 bedroom house.There is a nice office, living room and full bath with tub. You will have your own room. There is hot water and electricity in the house. Propane stove for cooking. Very peaceful, quiet neighbourhood about 5kms from town center. Basic shops near by. Main city for bigger shopping and needs is 45mins away.

    You will be doing your own cooking and shopping. If you are someone who likes to have meals together, dinner is more common and rotating the cooking is possible. We can discuss more.

    It's a great area and great home. A real place of solitude for myself, I'm sure you will feel the same!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of local options in transport. Easy for basic or long distance travel. Good, reliable buses for long distances and plenty of options locally for short distances.
    In town there are a few lodges which offer nice food and good swim spots, Kayaking and scuba diving. Staying here is quite independent. Outside of any work, you may team up with a local group of footballers to join in playing, there is a hall nearby which shows games on the weekend, meeting neighbors is always great as they are very welcoming and open. The opportunities to meet and be interactive is there and waiting your initiative! It's a quiet and simple life but easily can be found with things to explore and appreciate.

    Living here, I have held a standard of building a structure through a relational approach. Honoring and respect of the people and their values. In this, has been recognizing the challenges alcohol has in this cultural and how it is viewed locally. Especially amongst women and elders who are often facing the effects from activities engaged with alcohol. For this reason, being involved in an excessive level of this lifestyle does have an impact on the relationship and work we are accomplishing. We aim to take wisdom in the standard we set in community and daily life by living an example that is not seen as a hindrance to others.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nearby favorite swim spot!
My home!
The kitchen!
Community time!
Teaching new lifestyle models
Host ref number: 943588937632

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more