Join our family and enjoy our seaside city in Trieste, Italy



Favourited 242 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days


 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    *** We are currently looking for an English native speaker (or equivalent) to join our family from January (minimum stay 3 months) ***
    We are a family of four, Alessandro (father), Michela (mother) Alberto and Edoardo, living in the seaside city of Trieste, Italy.
    We would like to host a flexible young adult for interacting with different cultures and to give our sons the possibility to be open minded and pick up easily some English.
    We're pretty an active family. Alberto is 8 years old and Edoardo is 5 years old. They both love skiing, swimming, running, biking and singing. In my free time I love to exercise (running, training, skiing, playing tennis,....), my husband love running and he's attending a theater class. My husband and I speak Italian, English, French and some German, Alberto is fluent in English and Edoardo is piking up some words.
    Alberto and Edoardo’s grandparents live in the same city, and love spending some afternoons per week with their grandsons.
    You will have enough time and will be supported if you want to learn Italian.
    We like spending weekends with our kids, travelling, going out for a lunch or a walk with friends, in the city center or in the wood in the city’s surroundings or enjoying our home, alone or with friends. We also enjoy good food, ice-cream and pizza (Alberto says that my homemade pizza is the best!).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Trieste is close to Slovenia (Ljubljana is 1 hour driving), Croatia and Austria (just 1h and half hour away), and 2h by train to Venice, a little more to Verona and Padua: train station and bus stops are 5 min walks from our house.
    Trieste is surrounded by nature (sea, hills and rock), and is culturally rich and active. Trieste was European City of Science for 2020; it hosts a renowned university, so that you could join students’ cafes and activities. If you’re sporty and a fan of the open air, just 5 minutes’ walk from our house there are several sailing club where you can go sailing, rowing or making sup. In winter, skiing resorts are 1h and half away.
    You will have mainly mornings and early afternoons free to go to visit the city, to the seaside or doing sports, and the week ends free to travel around. There are many beautiful places to visit nearby and we can help with transport etc.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need somebody that would like to join our family and help us with the kids, with meal preparation and in keeping the house in order, since we both work.
    In weekdays, except for occasionally evening baby-sitting, we mainly need your help in the mornings, to get reading for school, and in the evenings.
    You will have to pick the children up from school (by walk or by bus) or bring Alberto to sport or piano class, re-order the toys and do some simple and light house works as, helping me and the kids in preparing meals, setting/reordering the table, taking care of the dish washer, empting washing machine, fold clothes (no ironing).
    Twice a week, a housekeeper comes to our home to take care of major house cleaning, vacuum cleaning and ironing.
    We would appreciate if you were used to keep your spaces tidy and if you’d practice English with the kids playing with educative and creative games.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Single room with window that looks on the city and the surrounding hills, private bathroom with shower. The bathroom has hairdrayer, and towels. WI-fi
    We live in a big apartment full of light with terrace, the sea is just out of the door windows in the city center of Trieste.
    Our food is homemade, healthy (mainly biologic) and simple, every week there is a cake and fresh bread in our kitchen. I like cooking, and will be very happy to share it with you (and to learn from you your best dishes!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    swimming, windsurfing, caving, rock climbing, hiking, thermal baths, Italian learning, Trieste is the capital of coffee, theater, opera and ballet, concerts...perfect location to do trips all over Europe, flixbus stop, train station, airport, direct connection with Venice ...and much more...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 943156575837