DIY, foresting & gardening in Alentejo (& also housesitting), Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 40 yo French, a potter and a proofreader (and also a choiceless farmer). The house is off-grid, right in a cork forest, a 20-min walk to the village and a 15-min drive from the Ocean.

    Independent and skilled people only please, no brainwashed new-age sheep "in search of my navel" (but take my advice = identities are BS & use the literacy skills school/ the state taught you and read books).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think I am quite integrated in the local community, so can give some insights about Portuguese culture. In my opinion, it is a beautiful and welcoming part of the country.
    Culturally and on the friendship front, there is not much going on usually, theatre or a festival sometimes, but we can go to the café drink a few beers or local wine!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Always needed:
    - Forest : land cleaning (chainsaw, brush cutting...)
    - Garden & Orchard : weeding and watering
    - House : small repairs & maintenance (lime washing, any interior or exterior design ideas welcome)

    I'm also looking for house sitters over the summer (means watering and lime washing at least).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A yurt, perfect in spring, summer and fall, more fire maintenance in winter.
    The house if you want to house-sit when I'm away (double bed in mezzanine over the kitchen).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The place is actually reachable by public transport (3 times a day)
    I have 2 bikes if you're fit (quite hilly). Can get you to the train (Grândola) or national buses (Santiago), which are 20-min drive away.
    Plenty of walking tracks!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a pretty good Wi-Fi connexion, which goes until the yurt. Or you can use a table in the house if you're quiet. Or in the workshop if you're house-sitting.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Unfortunately I don't have much flat space, only one area downhill that you may like as I do, close to a track (3 pick-ups or tractors a day max), olive trees and a little stream.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 942276836644