Join our family and enjoy sailing and being outdoors in Varsinais-Suomi, Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a 37-year couple living on a small island in the Finnish Archipelago. We have 2 dogs and 6 pet sheep and few chickens. We used to travel and live in different countries but now we have settled in Finland. The Finnish archipelago is a very special place to live in and we are happy to spend time sailing and being outdoors. The island were we live is located 45 minutes from Turku city.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to share our life style and give visitors opportunity to enjoy the unique environment in the stunning archipelago. We are native Finnish and Dutch speakers. We are happy to introduce Finnish lifestyle and sauna culture to the visitors and make some typical Finnish dishes for dinner. Please note that we offer only one hot meal per working day. The rest of the meals visitors buy and cook themselves. If the weather is good we should go for a sail, kayak or supping in the area. We can teach visitors sailing or horse back riding.

    Normally travelers pay for horse riding, sailing boat rental , SUP use etc. Now we would like to have some extra hands to help us and would like to exchange some tasks to the island experience. We will not ask the guest to clean a cottage because it's our income to pay the rent and running cost of this place. The help we ask the visitors to do is in our opinion fun outdoor tasks, that we are struggeling to have time to do ourselves. During the day you can both do the the tasks independently or together with one or both of us.

    Now in corona time we do welcome volunteers as long as you are healthy! We are now searching for 1-2 people for coming 3 weeks (until mid June) that would fit to our group. This island has only 4 people living here and small group of volunteers , so it is a very good place for social distancing :) Of course you have to be in Finland already to be able to come here!

    During the winter months there is 4 persons living on the island and we do not have customers. Winter time you can stay in the cottage during our stay. The cottage has got sauna and kitchen, and 2-3 bedrooms. In the summer time we might not have a cottage available. If you stay in our guest room in our house we will offer all the meals for the helpers.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to have help with all kind of maintenance tasks, painting, cleaning, building sheep fences, oiling piers, cleaning beaches, gardening, cutting fire wood, sewing curtains, picking berries, fixing sailing boats or outboard engines and taking care of our pet horses, chickens and sheep :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Sami: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Visitors can stay in a cottage or guest room in our house, those who like a to be really close to the nature can sleep in a tent or 7m sailing boat :D

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Unfortunately there is no public transportation to the ferry port during the summer. We can pick up the visitors from close by town Parainen. Ferry to the island runs several times a day and it´s free of charge.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 941585397391