Gardening at my garden house in Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 270 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey I'm Jasmijn, Two years ago I bought a garden house (28m2) on the edge of Amsterdam on a 300M2 garden. Since then I'm 'under construction'. The inside is for 90% finished, so now the time has come to get the outside done. I'm a self-employed art therapist, coach, and yin yoga teacher. During summertime, I live in my garden house and work in the city (25 min cycling). This spring I started my first tiny vegetable garden since kindergarten. Happy to learn every day about my garden and its inhabitants.
    Check availability! Not possible to host during wintertime!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will stay in a unique Amsterdam garden park. Not many people have so much garden in the city. Or even know that these places exist. There are 220 houses and everybody has a different garden.

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work is in the garden. But if you have experience with wood or replacing gas pipes, roofing or solar panels great!
    Next to the daily maintenance (weeding, mowing, pruning) there are some garden projects that I like to get done. Like taking down a little wall and reinstall the overgrown tile work. And there is also still some grouting walls that need to be done. So if you like to come for a long weekend and help me out great!

    Friday afternoon till Monday I spend the most time in my garden and house. This is the time we can work together.
    Check availability!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    That will be a tent in the garden, an air bed, sleeping bag, and pillow. Hot shower and toilet in the bathroom inside the house. Warm water, and stove work on butane gas also inside. A hammock outside under the shady trees. Energy comes from the solar panels on the roof. There is NO WIFI. But...you can use my tablet with internet access. And hotspot from my phone. Laundry you can do at the laundry self-service place.

    Animals are allowed, if well trained. They must be on a leash when they leave the garden.
    If you like to come with a mobile home I have a free parking spot.
    Cooking we will do together or for each other. I'm a vegetarian! Great if you like to cook! :) If not, we will manage.
    I can be a bit chaotic but very clean, and very precise with my tools. So please keep that in mind using my stuff. Smoking only outside! If you come to Amsterdam only for the weed and start your day with a joint, please don't apply.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like to experience the city of Amsterdam but not necessarily like to stay there all the time, this is the place to be. Amsterdam center is accessible by tram. Or bike (30 min). I have one spare for you to use. It is THE best way to move through the city! Around the park are wonderful walking routes, waters, and 2 nice organic restaurants. Also, Ruigoord is close. Great place during the festival season. Check this place out online!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    you are able to place a camper on the parking lot. Only for a few nights, I think.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If well trained and you take care off them yourself, incl. extra cleaning the floor ;)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 939776771547