Help needed on family farm in Lone Butte, BC, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    248

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We now live in Lone, Butte, BC, which is part of the Cariboo Region of British Columbia (cattle country). Our farm is located on a charming 20 acre property just south of Horse Lake, and only 15 minutes from the town of 100 Mile House. We currently have 3 horses, 3 alpacas, 8 dogs and 2 cats to care for, in addition to preparing the property for a flock of sheep that will be arriving later this year.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn a lot about horses, running a dog breeding facility, and of course learning the language. There are so many outdoor activities in the Cariboo as well. It's not all about work, it's about enjoying the outdoors, and life in general.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Horse experience a must. Feeding animals, looking after dogs and puppies, stall cleaning, working with horses, reporting issues, assisting with house cleaning and some cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We currently offer a 1 bedroom basement suite, with a full bathroom, kitchen, and living room with fireplace and tv.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located approx 15 min from the town of 100 mile, which has a medical clinic, hospital and grocery stores. We are surrounded by lots of beautiful lakes, hiking trails, and of course horseback riding.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average of 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 938835779843