Experience basque family life in rural Bizkaia and help our girls learn English, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 197 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (Excuse my english, I am studying it).

    We are a couple with two girls aged 10 and 14 who live in Bizkaia (Spain) in a beautiful farmhouse. My name is Vero and I am 46 and my husband 47.
    We live in Basque Country, in a beautiful place in the mountain,where we have two dogs.

    We would like to invite an english talkative girl to our home.

    Basque Country is amazing, you can visit Bizkaia (Museo Guggenheim, San Juan de Gaztelugatxe, Gernika), San Sebastián (Playa La Concha, Internacional Cinema Festival, "ir de Pintxos"); Hondarribia,Baiona.

    In Navarra it is celebrates San Fermín (Pamplona) is at about 1 h and half by car of Bilbao...and
    Cantabria is near us, sometimes we go to its beaches, they are long and beautiful....

    Parque Nacional Picos de Europa, Santillana del Mar, Parque de la Naturaleza Cabárceno are to un Cantabria.

    We would welcome an English talkative girl to be able to practice English and to teach it to our daughters also through games, stories, songs, etc. To do this we need that person speaks and understands Spanish (although not perfectly) and my daughters only get English as a subject and their level is very low.

    We ask for a responsible, hardworking, tidy, educated, honest girl, who likes to play with children, and smiling to take care of my daughters, help clean the house, etc. Should not be smoker or drug user.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Basque Country is lovely: we have an own language, culture, gastronomy, beaches, mountains, here it is celebrated a lot of parties, Festivals (Bilbao Festival BBK Live), this year is Europe Green Capital, Museo Guggenheim, Playa La Concha, San Juan de Gaztelugatxe. If hoy wanted you know more about it, you can visit some web pages like:
    "país vasco turismo"

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our main interest is to accommodate a talkative English to practice my medium English through everyday conversations. Also help with the housework and teach english to my daughters by songs, sentences, plays, and daily conversations,...
    We do not accept smokers, no alcohol or drugs of any kind. It is important that you like children. We need a person with a medium-high level of spanish, to children improve their english as well .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    Basque: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our house with us. You have your own room.
    The last two photos are of our house in Bizkaia. The rest are of Galicia.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Along the year we live in Igorre (Bizkaia. Basque Country), in the north of Spain.

    In summer, if it is possible, we will go on holidays to Galicia, to a small village, Allariz. Our house in Galicia is an about five minutes by car from the center of Allariz. A lot of people go down walk but it is a bus three times a day. We go to Allariz every days so there is no problem.
    In our house of Galicia, there isn't Wifi because it is a holiday house.

    We hope to have a kind relation and a good experience.
    If it is like that, we will repeat the experience. Soon I wil publish a new profile with photos.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)











Host ref number: 937818741214