A family of four living in a Savannah Georgia Home needs help with renovations - USA

Country

United States

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/04/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a blended family of 4 recently relocated to Wilmington Island, 20 minutes by car to downtown Savannah, Georgia. Currently living in the home are the heads of the household, Lauren and Peter, as well as two children. You might sometimes see the 16 year old boy (Ethan) when he is not at school and 21 year old daughter (Rachel) when she is home from her own WorkAway travels.

    Equally a part of the family are three fur babies, or dogs as some prefer to call them. The smallest weighs 10lbs (5kg) and the largest 65lbs (30kg.) They are absolutely adored and spoiled by their humans. Secluded in their own chamber are two cats, who could appreciate a little extra loving if you feel so inclined.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For those traveling from abroad, we can offer language practice for those looking to perfect English and an insight into a unique American city. Savannah, and Georgia is a "Southern" city- possessing unique culture that cannot be found in other parts of the United States.

    There are tons of traditional Southern restaurants within a few miles of the home. Traditional Georgia food include low country boil, barbecue, peaches, fried chicken, wings, seafood, corn bread, collared greens, grits, etc. These aren't foods that people consume all the time, merely foods we're known for here!

    For travelers passing through, we're more than happy to provide a welcoming place to stay while you explore the area!

    If you play bass guitar, Peter might enjoy messing around on guitars together.

    Peter and Rachel have some conversational French abilities so they would love to practice if you speak French.

  • Help

    Help

    Lauren and Peter recently purchased a 3500 square foot home on 3.7acres or 15000 square meters of land. The property is in the process of many changes and nowhere close to complete! Thus far, completed projects include such panting the outdoor patios, building a deck, electrical wiring, installing lights, demolishing an old garden, fencing in the yard, potting plants, clearing brush etc... all of which have been headed by Peter and Ethan!

    Future projects include:
    -Staining the deck
    -Creating a cement mold for fire table
    -Installing the fire table
    -Building planters
    -Pruning neglected fruit trees
    -Landscaping
    -General yard maintenance
    -Painting bathrooms
    -Building outdoor pool (2019)

    Because of the nature of the work, it is imperative that you are in physical condition to help with potentially laborious tasks. We prefer one strong, solo traveller but would be open to the possibility of a couple if you can convince us!
    By no means must you have experience building a flower planter but basic knowledge of tools and power tools will make projects easier for both of us. You won't generally be asked to complete these projects on your own, rather provide assistance to Peter.

    Four days of work will be asked in every 7 day period. We are willing to discuss both short term and longterm stays. If you have any specific trades or DIY skills, feel free to mention them to us!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom on the second story of a three story home. Directly next to your room is a bathroom would rarely be used by anyone other than yourself.

    Monday-Friday it is likely that only Peter will be home so you should find the residence to be fairly quiet!

    The house is a bit divided in terms of dietary preferences. Right now we have one vegan, one vegetarian and one gluten free. If we cook meals there are often a few modifications- meat for those who want it, tofu for those who do not, etc. Although we don't consume much meat, Peter will jump at any excuse to fire up his grill and smoke authentic chicken wings or grill corn on the cob.

    Dinner is usually eaten together while breakfast and lunch are taken separately. During your stay you will have full access to any food or beverage in our home, at no cost. When meals are prepared, you are more than welcome to join the family or make something of your own if you prefer.

    In the early mornings Lauren and Peter enjoy the sunrise with a cup of coffee. In the evening you will likely find at least one of us lounging on outdoor sofas to catch the sunset with a glass of wine or sitting by the (soon-to-be-completed) fire table. You will be more than welcome to join!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is located on Wilmington Island with the following destinations by car:

    Tybee Island/Beach- 15 minutes
    Downtown Savannah- 20 minutes
    Hilton Head Island/Beach- 1 hours
    Charleston, South Carolina- 2 hours
    Jacksonville, Florida- 2 hours
    Cumberland Island- 2 hours
    Atlanta, Georgia- 4 hours

    Unfortunately, public transportation in this area is very poor or non-existent. There is a bus nearby the house which can take you downtown but we are not aware of public transportation outside of that. Uber is a very popular method of travel- a ride downtown usually costs around $13 each way.

    We cannot guarantee that a car will be available for your use at all times. During the months that Rachel is traveling outside the U.S. through WorkAway, it is possible that you will be able to use her small, automatic car if you have a valid driver's license. We have bikes which you are more than welcome to use.

    If you are flying, the closest airport is Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (SAV.) We are happy to provide transportation to and from SAV. For guests willing to stay for longer durations or work extra hours, we can discuss transportation from Jacksonville Airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 3 days a week

Host ref number: 937513847846