Help at our farm with daily chores and meet many friendly people in Santa Cruz, Almodovar, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/02/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would be happy to find someone who loves goats and knows how to milk them or wants to learn, to stay with us for a longer period or even permanently! At this moment 9 goats milking.

    We are new in Portugal and happy to have found a beautiful farm in Alentejo with lot's of possibilities. We have a lifetime of experience with eco farming, gardening and keeping animals, producing cheese etc, in Finland. We decided to move to Portugal to enjoy a better climate and to be able to produce our own food basically around the year and for our goats to live a real goat life in an environment of mountains and bushes.
    Our vision is to create a retreat center where we can receive people looking for a silent place to contemplate or meditate, just being in harmony with nature, animals and wild life. Also with time, create a place for small concerts, performances and workshops.
    We are interested in permaculture and practice a mix of biodynamic, permaculture and no-dig gardening.
    We, Shanti and Simon, are both looking to share our skills both on the farm and in Portugal in general.
    Shanti is a tantra teacher, TRE (tension & trauma releasing exercises) provider, therapist, Tantric Life Coach trainer.
    Simon is Open Floor (conscious movement practice) teacher and training to be Tantric Life Coach and a Learning Love facilitator.
    We are welcoming volunteers for helping with animal care, taking the goats out to clear bushes, milking goats (if you stay long enough) taking care of horses, gardening, clearing around forgotten olive trees, landscaping, house cleaning, painting, natural construction...

    We expect you to be ok with being far from the next village and enjoying peace and nature. It's good if you are independent, able to think, willing to learn. A great bonus if you already have skills in milking goats or natural building!
    Drugs are not welcome on the farm and we prefer nonsmokers!

    Accommodation in our guesthouse or camping, yurts, depending on the amount of people and time of year.
    We share breakfast and lunch, other meals you can make together with the others from food that we provide. No meat!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Portugal offers a slow way of life, friendly people and on our farm many people from different cultures meet sharing their life experiences and stories.

  • Help

    Help

    We seem to always have some kind of building project goin on. So carpentry and construction skills are very welcome or willingness to learn.
    Also we need help with making firewood. We have 14 ha of pine forest where trees are growing too close so we need to take away a lot to give space for the other to grow. So if you are experienced using a chainsaw it's perfect!
    Our goats provide milk and cheese for our table, they like animals lovers to take them out for walks to eat and clear the land.
    Anybody can do bush clearing and wood chipping which we also have a lot of.
    We are constantly expanding garden and planting new trees to make our piece of Portugal greener.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have accommodation in the house and guesthouse and if really crowded we have tents. Planning to build huts.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 3-4 km from the nearest villages where you can't find much more than a bar/cafe. Around here is beautiful mountain landscape with one bigger river and several little creeks in the winter and spring so if you like walks and hikes it's a paradise. We sometimes make trips to nearby lakes in the summer when the river is dry.
    Almodovar is the nearest town, 17km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (3.0)

Communication: (2.5)









Host ref number: 937262435569