Help renovate cave rooms at my lodge in Cappadocia region, Turkey

  • Turkey
  • Favourited 519 times
  • Last activity: 26 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Personal info: My name is Tolun. I am an environmentalist doing his best to protect nature, a vegetarian who sometimes goes on a fruitarian diet, consisting of eating only fruits and nuts from the trees. I have an economical lifestyle as I am trying to save natural resources. I recycle almost everything. I was born in Istanbul and grew up in Ankara, studied languages and archaeology at the university of Ankara, have been working as a tour guide and conducted tours. I have traveled extensively with American, European, Canadian, Japanese tour groups speaking their own languages. I would like to improve my Japanese, Russian, German and Chinese. In my free time I take walks in the valleys and plant trees, or work on the restoration of my old Cappadocian cave house (consisting of both caves and regular rooms), transforming it into a nice house for my guests. More rooms are waiting to be added to my lodge. So workawayers with masonry skills would be helpful. I also have a project of reforesting the valleys down below the village. Especially reforestation on the walking path between Uchisar and Goreme, is my goal. New trees must be planted as a shelter for the wildlife and to keep the trees alive they must be irrigated especially in hot summer evenings.
    Attributes: I speak fluent Turkish, English, French, Italian, Japanese and can communicate in Russian, Chinese (Mandarin) and German.

    Education: I studied Archaeology and Philology at the University of Ankara, Studied at Iowa State University; Iowa City, Iowa, (USA), Studied at Omsk State Pedagogical University; Omsk, (Russia)

    Organizations: Earlier. I was a supporter of Greenpeace in Turkey. I was on their translation team and acted as an interpreter during some of their projects. Now I support a volunteer organisation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While helping for the restorations or helping me with the guests one can learn how to restore or build an eco friendly home and practice language. Outside work hours one can take walks in the nature, explore valleys, visit rock carved churches, underground cities and many other interesting places in the area.

  • Help


    Cave rooms down below the lodge, on the basement are waiting to be renovated. So assistance is needed for the renovations, helping with tourists, cleaning, ironing and cooking. At this time I especially need somebody who has masonary skills and somebody who speaks both Chinese and English fluently.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    Russian: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to improve my Japanese, Russian, German and Chinese.

  • Accommodation


    Cave rooms of the lodge.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Early Christian cave churches decorated with beautiful biblical frescoes, underground cities, valleys with fantastic rock formations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 936535963828

Feedback (5)


Learn about felt-making in the heart of Istanbul, Turkey
Welcome all who has a good heart and soul to help around the house in Mersin, Turkey