updated  

Join our family and help with daily life and teaching our kids to live fully in Nelson, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 113 times
  • Last activity: 16 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our family of four lives on 6 beautiful acres in Nelson BC. My partner Melissa (44) is a master photographer and retired tech CEO, while I (40) am am early retired academic, and entrepreneur who now focuses on writing and music. Our son (12) loves mountain biking, cars, board and video games while our daughter (8) loves music, gardening, math, sewing, crafts, and art.
    We have a large garden and acres of forest to maintain. We have two tiny homes, including one off-grid glamping setup dedicated for workawayers setup with an outdoor forest shower, solar power and composting toilet. At the house we have a hot tub, sauna and cold plunge and its something of a rural resort next to Nelson. You'll love it here.
    We need lots of hands to keep our property managed and to help teach our kids to live fully.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are relaxed retired professionals living the good life in one of the best small towns in British Columbia for outdoor pursuits. We balance raising a family, working on meaningful projects, self-care and introspection, social lives and fun. We've lived on the property since 2011 and have completely renovated it ourselves from a shack in the woods to a rural oasis that people travel to from around the world.
    I have a doctorate in history and enjoy conversation about all things. Melissa is a master photographer with 20 years of business experience, including running a tech company in the children's education space.
    We can share skills related to home renovations, cooking, kombucha, sourdough, permaculture, business management and entrepreneurship, hospitality, music, household and financial management, parenting, adventuring and many other things!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Many skills are desired! We're flexible and welcome skills that can contribute a portion of the following:
    ~Cooking and meal prep
    ~gardening (weeding, watering, plantings, running drip irrigation, propagating)
    ~food forest / permaculture
    ~cleaning & tidying
    ~lawn mowing and trimming
    ~basic carpentry
    ~childcare & babysitting
    ~music and language instruction
    ~snow removal
    ~occasional house & cat sitting

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a newly built off-grid tiny house with loft bedroom and composting toilet plus outdoor solar shower in the forest. You will have access to indoor shower and flush toilet (and sauna and hot tub) at the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nelson is home to world-class hiking, biking, climbing and skiing.
    There are nearby hot springs, amazing beaches and camping with the best spots known only to locals like us.
    From our property, you're a 10 minute bike ride or 25 min walk to downtown Nelson or you can access Morning Mountain or Giveout Creek mountain bike and hiking trails.
    We have bikes and all sorts of outdoor equipment to lend out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large area to park a campervan, but no power/septic other than a small gas generator.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 934738832193

Feedback (4)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)








Help in veggie and herbal gardens, making medicines, dog care, etc in Lillooet, Canada
Help with farm and children in one of BC's most beautiful areas, McBride, British Columbia, Canada