Help us and our five rescued greyhounds bring this mini lifestyle block from a neglected mess up to a little piece of eco paradise... Bay of Plenty, NZ


New Zealand

Favourited 133 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Come to Reporoa, (between Rotorua and Taupo) and help Andrew and I, and our five rescued greyhounds bring this mini lifestyle block from a neglected mess up to a little piece of eco paradise... we almost need to start from scratch... big plans and dreams but we have amazing vision for this lovely place..
    We're also involved in greyhound rescue charity.. our helpers would need to be animal lovers..!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I hope our journey/offer doesn't seem too daunting! It's not really!
    We are happy to have international travelers stay/work with us, and share experiences/language.. We are both pretty colourful people, not really very conventional when it comes to most things so coming to help us will hopefully be a happy and interesting experience all round. A sense of humour would be appreciated when you stay with us.. it can be a fun with all these dogs..! :) You really must love dogs to stay with us..!!
    I have traveled fairly extensively in the past, and Andrew has traveled a bit. We're happy to share language skills, work skills, experiences. If there are any aspects of our lives that are of particular interest to our helpers, we are certainly willing to share and teach.
    We are/have been avid motorcycle riders.. Andrew is learning guitar, is a spray painter by trade and a keen novice gardener.
    I am a clothing designer/creator, avid vintage linen collector and love all things old and shabby.. have been a shoe designer and picture framer and many other things in my past and have traveled a fair bit.
    We are now deeply involved in greyhound rescue and welfare and do charity work with these dogs so this may be something of interest to learn about.

  • Help


    Help is needed with everything from gardening, weeding, <<< omg.. !! , planting, painting, building, mowing, general maintenance outside and in, to unpacking boxes, help with the dogs, cooking, cleaning inside and out, maybe windows etc.. mostly all those jobs that need doing when you move to a new property...!

    Our little one acre property is crying out to be loved and filled with awesomeness..!
    We plan to add loads of vege and fruit baring crops and trees, gardens, fix up the dilapidated chicken house for free range chickens.. build decks, sheds, fencing, hard and soft landscaping, worm farm and compost bays... as eco and organic as we can...
    On the property is also a lovely large building that was previously run as a lively cafe, this will be turned into my studio/workroom, extra lounge, place for art/craft/sewing and other tutored classes and social gathering place, (so many plans!) .. a lot of unpacking, designing, renovating and general 'from the ground up' sort of projects.. at the moment it will also house our amazing workaway helpers..! It has a large commercial kitchen and toilet facilities.. and for winter a huge stand along Kent fire place.. !

    Most everything is disorganized and half done at the moment, so there are plenty of projects to go around!
    We are on a shoestring budget but we are not lacking in Kiwi ingenuity, effort, and get it done attitude.. if it can be done, we will find a way... :)

    If you have ingenious ideas, know about building, or gardening or any of the things we will be doing, do speak up! We are always open to finding clever, better, interesting and of course, the right way, to achieve the things we need to do...
    (Just by chance, if you happen to be a builder, I love you already.. lol)

    We're also involved in charity work for rescue dogs, so depending on where we are in the scheme of things, help with that could also be needed. Help with the actual greyhounds here is always needed..!!

    If you are skilled in craft or sewing, this is what I do for a living, so once my lovely workroom is sorted there could be an avenue for this sort of help too! If you come to stay with us, it will never be boring!!
    In return for 5 hours per day (negotiable) 5 out of 7days, you will get a warm, comfy bed to stay in, depending on where we are at in our journey, it could be in our guest room, our separate studio (mentioned above), or later on, the plan is for other separate sleepouts.. (but this is long term.. :) , and meals. (We usually all cook together as we think it's the social thing to do)... we are not gourmets but we don't starve.. you won't either.. promise.!

    Your own car or vehicle would be preferable, but the Intercity bus stops right outside our property from either Taupo or Rotorua, or we could collect you from Rotorua as either Andrew or I go semi frequently to town. We are approximately 25-30mins from either Rotorua or Taupo.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    As we are at the very start of setting up our property, at the moment we can offer a comfy queen bed in our guest room, (later on as we get building work done, it will might change to separate accommodation), but for now we are all in the main house or in the wee bedroom at the back of my studio...

    Later plans will include sleepouts (to be built) and there is a large kitchen and toilet facilities to use, although, our helpers will have meals with us and use the bathroom/shower in the house until we can get a shower installed in the studio.
    We have a queen bed available at the moment, and a set of bunks.. double on the bottom, single on the top.
    Meals.. everything is negotiable, but we usually all cook together at dinner time because we think it's the social thing to do.
    We will provide a cooked/main meal in the evening, breakfast and lunch food is available, sometimes made, sometimes help yourself. (To be decided depending on each stay).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We've just moved in here from Rotorua, but are only half hour from both Rotorua and Taupo, both tourist/traveller hot spots.. so much to do in both places if you like the outdoors and/or adventure sports.. lakes, rivers, hiking, biking, forests and if you are a gourmet, there are plenty of restaurants too....
    Nearby is Rainbow Mountain and Kerosene Creek, a natural running hot stream and the awesome Butcher's Pool, a natural thermal hot pool surrounded by farmland.. only a few kms from home.
    There are also tourist attractions nearby like Wai-o-Tapu, The Māori Village, Waikite hot pools and lots of bike trails...
    Of course Lake Taupo and the lakes of Rotorua are big attractions in themselves... The Intercity bus stops right outside so it's really convenient to go North or South from our place if you plan ahead...
    If you don't have a car, on your days off, it's possible to arrange to drop you in to town, but since we are so busy ourselves trying to get this place sorted we probably won't spend much time doing all that fun stuff you will be doing.. lol..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 934638762647