Family dairy and sheep farm welcomes help in Snæfellsbær, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family run dairy and sheep farm, and also run a small guesthouse, three rooms in total. We are on the Snæfellsnes peninsula in the west of Iceland. Nature here is beautiful and easy to go on shorter or longer hikes in the vicinity. Weather is normally nice during the summer but can be a bit on the windier side in the wintertime.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a small community but because of the guesthouse, people stay in our home, we meet a lot of people every day. It’s easy for those who love nature, are into photography or painting to have enough to do in their spare time. People who help at our farm are of course part of the family while they are staying with us, so if we go and see the school play or go to local festivals they come with us.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with the animals. Main task would be milking the cows, feeding the cows, calves and the sheep and clean everything related to that task, such as the milking equipments and so on. Sometimes we need help with seasonal projects, like building fences and lambing season

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our helper would get his/her own room,around 10 sqm. Fully equipped with bed, closet, mirror and comfy chair. Facilities are shared with everybody, like bathroom, kitchen and living room. We cook every day , meat or fish, never vegetables or fruit. Cereals, bread, eggs and fresh milk from the cows are also always available but if people are on special diet they have to buy and cook that themselves.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Working space would have to be in your bedroom. We can provide deck, table and chair

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have enough space. It is more matter if one wants to park their camper near to the main house or not. Both are possible

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    8-13 or 16-21 is ideal time for us


Host ref number: 934423748398