Help with childminding in a small village outside Selfoss, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello.
    My name is Rakel and my husband name is Gestur. We live in a small village 30min drive from Selfoss there is in the south of Iceland. We have 4 kids from 2 years old to 13. The oldest boy come to us every second weekend and the next oldest boy are also having a father weekend in the north every second weekend. The two girls are always here ;) We have one very kind dog (who live in the house) and two cats but the cats live in the garage.
    I work at the kindergarden that is 15min drive from home and me and the girls goes together. My husband is working at farms milking cows and doing two other jobs also.

    we desperatly need some help at the house...helping with the kids, mostly with the two girls ...and also with some jobs around the house.

    We love to meet people around the world. we are looking for person who are able to drive, dont smoke, and are willing to learn our language, even thou its only for the practicular things and so the kids could communicate.
    positive, smiling, creative, very good with kids, independent in work and curiosity about our land and nature....and it would be so much fun if music is high on your list

    we want everybody be happy and feeling great and we are very helping persons and willing to make the stay as good as we can, funny and remindable for you :) we are always trying our best and we want honesty, posetive, trust, happiness and good mood here in our home and around our kids. also we like to have people with good humor ;)
    we are trustful positive people that wants everybody feeling good about themselves and we help each other if we need it

    our best greetings
    Rakel and Gestur

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we live near the famous golden circle here in iceland and we would love to travel and show you our country. I am from the north...from Husavik so we will be able to travel to see the north also and we will try to travel and show you as much as we are able to do around iceland, or helping you to travel.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    our daily routine: waking up around 7 to get reddy for school/work
    me and the girls are ending the day at kindergarden at 4 (16pm) and my 11 year old son is finishing his school between 15 and 16pm its different depends on if he is taking guitar lesson or something
    My husband comes home usually around lunch time and take some rest if he dont have to do some sudden work at the farm.
    when we come home we just enjoy the weather outside or try to play inside...and around 18pm they can have relaxing time to watch tv before dinner. girls are supposed to go to bed around 20pm and the boy around 21pm if its school the day after. in between all this we try to clean and make laundry and other stuff.
    the weekends are more loose...if there is nothing planned we try to relax and enjoy the time together more.

    help with the girls in the morning (if needed). nobody eats breakfast at home so its more just getting them dressed. during the day maby do light housework...floor...dishwasher...laundry...and take the dog maby for walk. and just relax also. the better plan is just what we deside between us.
    after schools help with girls, play with them and sometimes maby put them in bath/shower or joining in the hot tub
    helping finish to clean after dinner and/or other things that need to be done if some....and free for the night... i will put the girls to sleep exept there will be something that i have to do then i ask you to put them to sleep
    weekends more free and just be part of the family.
    maby we negotiable about some babysitting so my husband and I could take some break together...out for dinner or something. we are not able to do that now.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Icelandic: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    speaking english interest in what ever the person comes from

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    When you will stay with us you will be the part of our family. you will get your own space, bedroom or tiny appartment (that we are trying to make ready in our garage). w/ bed, closet, private toilett in the garage, or share bathroom in the house. Because you will be part of the family you will just eat with us in the meal time. from Monday to friday when everybody are at works and school you will take care of youself with breakfast and lunch, just eat that is in the refrigerator. If there is something special that you need we will help with that as we can.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A lot to see and do here. we live near golden circle, Gullfoss and Geysir and a lots of other beautiful places. 30 min driving from Selfoss and about 1 hour drive from Reykjavik. We live in a small village that have a small market, small cute swimmingpool, school with playground, a small bar that will be open sometimes during the winter but more open during the summertime. Good place to take a walk around and possibly able to go horseriding and just whatever we can find you to do

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi for the internet and you will get the key for that when you arrive.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    you could park your car or what ever you are traveling on in our parking lot, just if it´s regular size like normal passenger car

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, maby from time to time babysitting during weekend IF we need


Host ref number: 584579343863