Soak in Iceland's beautiful nature on a farm between mountains and sea near Akureyri

Country

Iceland

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ! Covid-19 Update: we are closely monitoring the situation and are following the rules and guidelines of the Icelandic government. Until travel restrictions and quarantine requirements for travelers are lifted, we are only accepting workers that are already in Iceland!

    We are a fun family of four living on a beautiful farm in North East Iceland together with around 40+ horses, our dog Bingo and our cat Nemo. Raggi (Dad) - king of the stable - breeds, trains, judges and competes on Icelandic horses but he is also working in the fishing industry. While working at sea, Raggi is periodically away from the farm for several days up to a week at a time, however the farm work doesn't stop just because the boss is away. Sandra (Mom) is an all-around talent being a professional horse-trainer, free-lance journalist, photographer and also running the family's guest apartment. Embla (13) is following in her parents footsteps as a passionate rider and promising competitor. Sindri (9) is the family's prankster, gaming-prodigy and go-to translator for Icelandic-English.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the Icelandic lifestyle and rural country living in one of the world's most beautiful places. Enjoy your morning coffee with a spectacular view over snow-covered mountains and the water of Eyjafjördur. Learn about horse care, Icelandic farm life and so much more :)

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    In the spring when the snow has melted, we are mainly looking for help to repair the fences around our horse pastures. We have someone else living with us that is working with the horses and training them together Sandra. Cleaning stables and feeding horses can also be one of the daily tasks, so we need someone who is at least comfortable around big animals. Depending on your expertise with horses and skill-level, working with our horses is possible but it will not be your main focus. Grocery shopping, cooking or household chores could also be part of the work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom, shared bathroom with other worker. Meals are included, however it will be very difficult to accomodate a strict vegetarian/vegan diet in our households, therefore we would prefer non-vegetarians/non-vegans.

    Vegetarians/vegans are welcome, but would have to supply their own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about 35 mins driving distance from Akureyi where there is a really nice swimming pool, cultural center, shopping malls, Ice skating ring and more. The small town Grenivik, is less than 10 min away by car and offers a swimming pool, small convenience store and phenomenal views of the Fjord. You can hike and explore the beautiful landscape right from our farm or go fishing in the river nearby.

    Important: Non-vegetarians/Non-vegans preferred. While maybe not impossible, it will be very difficult to accomodate a strict vegetarian/vegan diet in our households. Vegetarians/vegans are welcome, but would have to supply their own food.

    Driver's license preferred.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 513156855497