Help us on our small eco farm camp on the beautiful island of Langeland in Denmark

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 402 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    674

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Update: Hey Argentina & Chile, we now may also be able to help you with your CPR if you stay with us for 1 month. **
    ______

    We, Tirza (33) and Nicki (39), have decided to say goodbye to the fast life in Amsterdam, and bought a farm with some land in Denmark. Together with our cats Ollie and Molly and our senior dog Peanut and young german shepard Lucy, we are embarking on the adventure of our lifetime and are now enjoying the back-to-nature-life on the beautiful island of Langeland, in the middle of Denmark's South Funen archipelago.

    We have in the past year build up a small eco farm camp, are building and managing a growing veggie/herb garden and look after a hazelnut orchard with 400 trees. This old farm needs constant work too, there's always something to be done on the house or in the sheds. To top it all off, we also have five lovely chickens and are just about to rescue two small pigs as well.

    Since we're both social people who like to travel ourselves and meet new people, we invite Workawayers to come stay with us and experience life on a small farm, work hard and have a nice and relaxing time as well. We experience this balance as very satisfying :-).

    We are looking for people who:
    - Are not afraid to take initiative and work independently.
    - Like to use their muscles and lose some sweat, experience the real (sometimes hard) farm life ;).
    - Speak English (doesn't need to be perfect of course but good enough to hold a conversation)
    - Love dogs and like to hang out with them too (including a very fun and sweet but young high energy German Shepard)

    If this sound like you, then please reach out.... we're looking forward to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Langeland is a beautiful spot in nature, with plenty of opportunities to enjoy nature and the quiet. We speak English, German and Dutch on the farm. Nicki has lived in New Zealand for half her life before moving to Amsterdam. Tirza is from The Netherlands but just like Nicki has travelled to many places in her life. We have both worked as volunteers and Woofers in the past, so we know what it's like. We're sure we can learn a lot from each other, and hopefully can make your experience with us a very special one.

  • Help

    Help

    Help on the Eco Camp
    During summer season we run a small farm camping (5 units in total), so at the moment our main priorities and needs are for someone to help us with the daily chores: changing bed sheets, cleaning bathrooms and toilets as well as the shared kitchen, helping out on Pizza night and much more. We need someone with an eye for detail, and ideally someone that enjoys cleaning and doesn't see it as an annoying task.

    General jobs inside / outside
    We always have something to do, many tidy up jobs. Clearing out sheds, taking trailer loads of rubbish to the recycling station, tidying up spaces and redecorating them for other use. And lots of tidying up in the garden, removing leafs, sticks, cutting grass. There's enough work in any season.

    Construction & building
    We can always people that know how to use tools and are experienced in construction, building or woodworking. If you're an experienced carpenter, even better! We have big dreams for this property and will be working on a variety of different projects to develop and improve the structures on the farm and the small eco camp.

    Organic Gardening
    We have an orchard of 400 hazelnut trees that need tending to once in a while, especially during harvest time in September and pruning in winter. In addition we are working on creating a permaculture garden that we can use help with building up and looking after. The reward for this will be fresh and healthy food all year around for everyone staying and working at the farm. Overall maintenance keeping grass and hedges under control is also a part of the work.
    Maintenance
    The land and all the buildings need continuous care, repair and improvements. A genuine interest in the ongoing process of running a farm is highly appreciated.

    Animal Care
    We currently have two cats, two dogs, and six chickens. You need to be experienced with dogs and don't be scared to break up a fight if it happens. If you don't feel comfortable around dogs, then this place is not the right place for you. You have to like animals, as caring and socialising with them is a big part of the work at the farm. True dog lovers get the extra points.

    Household chores
    We don't run a hotel, so it's essential that everyone helps out in and around the house, just like you would do at home. It's just the usual tasks ... some cleaning, dishes, cooking etc. We take care of the food, but don't always expect us to serve it to you... it's something we do together as a social thing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent: english, dutch and german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the season and the amount of volunteers we're hosting (usually max. 2, but more during harvesting time) will have your own room in our beautiful farm house, or your own tent in the camp (summertime only) and share bathroom and kitchen with us. We currently have two guest rooms and can therefore host 2 people or couples at a time. You can also pitch your own tent if you prefer to live outside.

    We cook vegetarian/vegan food only.
    During the season most of our food comes fresh out off the veggie garden, and we would like it a lot if you helped us in the kitchen the days that you are eating with us. We also expect help with washing dishes etc.
    In return, we'll provide you with a nutritious breakfast, a self-served lunch and a tasty dinner - 5 days per week (Monday to Friday).

    On the weekends, we will provide breakfast and dinner.
    The weekends are a great time for you to do some sightseeing during the day to get to know our surroundings, and for our family to have some time alone.

    You are free to do whatever you find interesting, in your free time. If you like to go somewhere we will try to help you find the best way getting there. There's a bus not far, and you can also always borrow one of our bikes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our little farmstead is only 900m away from a beautiful beach. This 40km coastline is entirely white sand and the nature is beautiful, calm and serene. Enjoy time at the beach, or go for a kayak. Fishing in the area is also a lot of fun, or you can grab one of our bikes and go on a cycling adventure. If you rather would be surrounded by people and shops, the town of Svendborg is only 25min by car / bus and you can find anything you like there, including a movie theatre.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week + some help with cooking and tidying the house together on the weekends.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 933527487886