Join our family at our Alaskan wilderness homestead, USA



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a family living on a remote homestead along a large river in Alaska's Interior. We love this place and strive to live as locally as practical by hunting, gathering, growing, building, and living in ways that are respectful to the resources of this area. We bought our home as raw land and have spent over a decade building it into a comfortable wilderness home. Our family includes a team of Alaska huskies that we use for work, recreation and entertainment. We have taught wilderness skills, crafting, and more and are looking to pass on some of the skills and methods that we have found helpful. Our homestead does not have traditional running water, TV, very good internet, or other modern amenities but it is rich in solitude, wild food, and wilderness.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on what we're working on there is a lot to learn about building techniques, tool use, northern gardening, subsistence, hunting, fishing, food preservation, bushcraft and traditional crafts such as birch bark basketry.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We generally have some building project going at any given time. Looking for independent, hard-working and enthusiastic people. Depending on the time of year, things we need help with may include: log cabin building, timber framing, gardening, preserving food, chores like cutting firewood, digging holes, clearing land, gathering building resources like gravel, moss, and wood, cooking and more. Building skills are ideal but not necessary, a lot of what we do is grunt work! We also are looking for people who are good with kids.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Guests stay in their own small log cabin with sod roof (think Hobbit home!). Minimal electricity from a solar system, outhouse, simple sink, outdoor shower. There is some cell service, depending on your carrier but no wifi, no TV. 2 meals with us in our cabin each day, one on your own (we provide ingredients).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are off the road system so to get here you need to hike, boat, or travel over snow on skis, snowmachine or dog team and it takes about 2 hours to get to Fairbanks. Some times of year access to town is very limited. We only go to town about once every two weeks so travelers should be prepared to spend some time in relative isolation. While you're here we have trails for hiking, some canoeing options, or mushing/skiing in the winter. Should come prepared to spend some time off on your own reading, recreating, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 932697923882

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help at our little hobby farm and learn French in Bend, Oregon, US
A fun working retreat for gardeners In the glorious pacific northwest- Washington State, USA