Strong and practical Workawayers welcome in Riverside Property in Midi Pyrenees, France

  • Favourited 615 times
  • Last activity: 24 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description



    Hi. We are Simon and Linda and having toured France as Workawayers ourselves, we sold up in the UK in 2013 and bought our dream house on the banks of the river Aveyron in the Tarn region. It is in a very rural location but only 20 mins or so away from 3 of the most beautiful mediaeval towns in France....Cordes sur Ciel/Najac/St Antonin Noble Val.

    Much of the alteration and improvement work needed for our property was carried out with the help of some fantastic Workawayers within the first couple of years, with subsequent secondary improvements following. We have enjoyed living here since, but a couple of new projects are now planned - and we are, once again, looking for helpers.

    A retaining wall in front of a garden bank needs refacing with stone and our parking area is due for an upgrade with the installation of solar panel topped carport and an EV charging station - a qualified electrician will look after the important bits, but the structure still needs erecting. Our laurel hedge is desperately in need of a MAJOR trim and we also now have an additional plot next to our garden which needs maintaining/improving as a vegetable garden (potager) - and there is always endless tidy up to do around the property

    Simon has good building & DIY skills while Linda is a holistic therapist and reiki practitioner who speaks pretty fluent French. We are both happy to pass on these skills wherever possible. Simon has made yurts too.

    We are easy-going, love music and dancing (so if you play guitar you are welcome to use our brand new and barely used (!!) Takamine and we have a piano too) but please bear in mind that this is a very rural placement, so if you are looking for bright lights and nightlife, this really isn't for you.

    The city of Toulouse is about an hour and a half away and Albi, the pink city and birthplace of Toulouse Lautrec (great museum there) is 45 mins away. Gorgeous scenery, river gorges and quaint villages abound here! You can use the swimming pool, relax by the river and maybe even go biking and canoeing. Our rescue dog Bella is always ready for walks and willing to show you the surrounding countryside.

    Having been Workawayers ourselves, we think we will be good hosts....certainly food will be tasty and plentiful and you will be made very welcome. In return, we look for about 5 hours (sometimes hard) assistance per day 5 days per week with two full days off.

    Ideally we are looking for helpers who are easy-going and who understand that meals are a team effort. We would love you to cook occasionally if you can, but not a problem if your contribution is just to help out in the kitchen, either helping prep meals or clearing up after.

    We initially like to agree a one week stay with a view to extending if everything is going well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to visit typical medieval villages of the area and see how rural practices have influenced the local architecture and landscape. Colourful shops and markets and the opportunity to improve your French.

  • Help


    Thanks to the amazing WorkAwayers who have stayed with us since we moved in, our extension is now (dare we say it???) FINISHED!! We took a break over the winter but may host occasionally during spring and summer 2024 if anyone would like to help us with general gardening, wood-cutting, house, maintenance tasks. We may even have a go at a planned project creating a stone wall edging on the driveway.

    Building/DIY experience would be a huge plus, but strong biceps and a can-do attitude is all that is really needed and you should pick up some skills along the way. Gardening know-how would be great too!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    English is our mother tongue but Linda is fluent in conversational French and Italian.

  • Accommodation


    Your accommodation will be either in the house with us or (by prior arrangement in spring, summer and autumn) the yurt down by the river, where you would be completely at peace apart from regular visits from the dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest airport Toulouse. Nearest railway station Lexos (on the Toulouse - Aurillac/Figeac line)
    You are welcome to smoke outside the house if you wish.
    We provide 3 good meals a day and biscuits with morning coffee. If you like to snack between meals, we would ask you to bring your own supplies. We like to eat quite healthily, so lots of soups, veggies and salads, some chicken and fish, but very little red meat.
    We have two mountain bikes and kayaks which you would be welcome to use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Reasonably good internet and workplace desk available

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Motorhome owners ourselves, and have space for a visiting motorhome with electric, and water available.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    could accept a small, well trained dog, but property is un-fenced - owners risk.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours, 5 days a week maximum

Host ref number: 931936874381

Feedback (25)