Small and friendly organic farm on an Estonian island is looking for enthusiastic people of all ages to help out with farming in Saaremaa, Estonia

Country

Estonia

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    265

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Small and friendly organic farm on an Estonian island is looking for enthusiastic people of all ages to help out with farming. We are also running a small village cafe.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Saaremaa in a must-see Baltic Sea island with intact nature and distinct culture. Our farm is just a walk from the seaside with spectacular views and nature trails. There is a small grocery store in the village and the nearest town is just 15 km away with local bus transport in place. We are an Estonian family with kids (5, 7 and 9 years old). English, Finnish and some degree of German and French is spoken in the family.

  • Help

    Help

    In order to help us in our farming tasks volunteers are welcome to collect and dry different herbs. Help is also needed on the strawberry field. Simple aid around the house can also be rendered (general maintenance). No special skills are required, but a smile will be a good asset.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Estonian: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One guest room all year around plus a cosy caravan during summer period. Family meals around the table. Vegans are welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a couple approaching our 40s. We settled on the island three years ago after a career in the capital. Our farm is organic and so is our life-style. Our three kids are all boys. We have no pets or farm animals, but visitors can bring pets along.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 931878857973