1 / 5

Help us with gardening and fix irrigation system in Denman Island, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 02/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are an active semi-retired couple with a wonderful big Bernese/Newfie dog on a small Island on the West Coast of British Columbia, Canada. We want to expand our drip irrigation system to support the (re)introduction of native plant species to our waterfront island landscape.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    British Columbia has one of the largest coastal temperate rainforests in the world, and yet, we often don't have sufficient water! Living on traditional territories of the K'omox First Nations and Coast Salish peoples, there is a rich cultural groundedness here. Local celebrations include many important and historical events in the colonization (and hopefully, decolonization) of First Nations people all over the province.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help digging, weeding, wheelbarrowing, and generally improving the soil to make this a reality. We’d appreciate help with reorganizing our veggie/fruit/nut gardens too!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide amazing detached waterfront accommodation for a couple who enjoy outdoor activities such as paddling, hiking, biking, and swimming with access to a heated swimming pool and hot tub! (paddle boards, bicycles, etc. available for use)
    We are an animal friendly, non- smoking plant based home and are happy to provide food and some shared meals that support this lifestyle to compatible working people.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So much to do: next door world famous Hornby Island beaches, mountains, artisans; Vancouver Island mountains, surf Long Beach, Tofino, shops, and other great stuff to do - just ask! Victoria and Vancouver are both about 3 hours away (by car/bus and ferry) if you need a larger city experience.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Medium speed WiFi throughout the property

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 931611219126

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Come be a part of our family on our beautiful Eco-Homestead in Canada
Help our project of regenerative farming and community building in Ontario, Canada