Help with children in one of BC's most beautiful areas, McBride, British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple (42 and 40 yrs) with 2 young boys (2 and 1 yrs). We both work from home. We have a large property with farmhouse, 2 large dogs, horses, lambs, pigs and a handful of chickens and ducks. Always adding animals as we go

    We are located in McBride, British Columbia. It is a small 'village' in the Robson Valley - one of BC's most beautiful areas! !

    Our dogs are large breed dogs, mostly inside. They are very friendly (sometimes a little too friendly!).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a subsistence lifestyle as much as we can. We are very passionate about wildlife conservation, and that will be very evident while you are here. Some things you will take away from your stay with us will be experiencing a quiet and rural lifestyle, gaining knowledge about hunting and wildlife conservation, being surrounded with some of the most beautiful nature that BC has to offer and of course, having fun with a couple of super cute and fun little boys! You also have the opportunity to learn a great deal about small scale farming.

  • Help

    Help

    To be a good fit for our home, you should be ready for remote living, comfortable with dogs and, most importantly, experienced with small kids/babies.

    My husband does computer work from home and I am a bookkeeper, going into my busiest work season. I need someone to help with my little boys for a couple hours each day (ie. feeding, changing, playing etc). It would also be helpful to have some help with light cleaning and other household and farm chores.

    It is expected that a single girl/woman would suit us best, but we are open - experience is primary.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is set up with general living space on the lower level and bedrooms on the upper. You will have use of a large spare room and main bathroom that is lightly used (almost exclusively for children's baths). There is a family room as well as a sitting room on the main level, so there is a lot of space to sit and read, or have time to yourself. We have sit-down dinner together every night, but breakfast and lunch are mostly "help-yourself".

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would be suitable hosts for someone looking for a bit of quiet time for reflection, reading, writing etc. As we are quite rural, the most likely things to do with free time will involve the outdoors, or just curling up with a good book. Or you can relax in the hot tub, surrounded by trees and mountain views!

    There are other young people and workaways at the farm next door, so there are opportunities to socialize, go skiing and hiking e.t.c.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have an RV site with hookups.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 929431266771