Sustainable living on a small farm near the Baltic Sea, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 246 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    Hanna and Jörg (both 45) live on the countryside in a former brickyard area (3ha) 15 km south from the Baltic Sea.

    We live sustainable: solarenergy, wellwater, compostoilet, oven...are a few things which make our living comfortable.
    We are happy to grow food and share a simple way of living.

    Jörg is a carpenter, he is into finding best ways to live sustainable. He was breeding chicken in the past years and is happy with his dog Eddy and goes fishing from time to time.

    Hanna is a body therapist. She studied social work and is giving yoga classes and massages. She is the gardener, the cook and happy with making fresh food.

    Jörg has three daughters which are around from time to time.

    We want to transform this place more and more. Starting 5 years ago in a jungle, becoming fresh vegetables and fruits now, we are hoping to plant more trees, more flowers and more to share to live in a vibrant community.

    We would love to meet people from all over the world who have a passion for being outside, discovering plants and the way of natural being.

    Feel welcome to ask questions,
    love Hanna & Jörg

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we live surounded by fields,

    we love to share our experiences and the joy in nature

    Hanna was working as a volunteer about 20 years ago in London...her english is more or less fluent...she loves to get into the language again. Jörg speaks his school english very well by now (he had some good practise over the past 3 years).

    we are open for people who love to work with their hands (BUT WE CAN NOT HOST CHILDREN), Jörg likes to share his knowledge about solar- and windenergy and Hanna loves to share her knowledge about herbs, processing fruits and vegetables,

    we love simple, natural food, Hanna loves yoga, dance, massages, and silence from time to time to breath in and out, she likes to share massage hands on and yogapraxis, both love books or a good movie.

    Hanna was living in Berlin and travelling and working around the world (Bolivia, Senegal, Indonesia, India); Jörg is down to earth, growing up in a neighbour village...but has seen Lissabon.

    Hanna is giving courses in Yoga on mondays and thursdays. Jörg is working part time three days a week.

  • Help

    Help

    at the moment:
    we are looking for one or two strong person from september

    things to do for men
    build hedges and wooden fenses
    prepair beds
    harvesting and cooking
    chop wood and pile it up
    some painting in the garden house

    for women
    build hedges and wooden fenses
    prepair beds
    harvesting and cooking
    some painting in the garden house

    we can harvest greens and make pesto, salad and herbal tea, we will harvest fruits and make jam
    we bake our own bread
    we have fresh eggs from our neighbour

    we love helpers who will clean their dishes and help in the kitchen once in a while

    Usually we ask for help on monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday and friday from 9 am - 3 pm. We have breakfast together before and a hour lunch in between. In the evenings we would be happy to have some time for ourself,

    Hanna will be cooking mainly but she loves assistance. We will provide food (for three times a day) and you are free to use the kitchen. In the days off we can do some trips together.

    OUR HOUSE IS STILL UNDER CONSTRUCTION. You can get a clear picture which afford simple lifestyle takes and you always will have the beauty of nature around you.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in your own room in the house or in the campingvan.

    PLEASE note: our living conditions are very simple. If you have done camping in the wilderness this might be a great place for you. If you know camping at a usual camping site: we have no water closett but a compost toilett outside and inside the house.

    We have hot runing water and an oven which keeps you warm!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are surounded by fields and close to a main road leading to Wismar

    next bus stop 30m (the bus is going directly to Wismar)
    next natural swimming pond 500m,
    train station 2km
    bicycles available
    next little shop 2km
    next students bar 15 km,
    Baltic Sea 15km,
    library 15km,
    bakery 15km....

    Jörg is having a beer and a chicken from time to time (not everyday!!!), he loves fishing in the Baltic Sea, Hanna is vegetarian.

    Schwerin and Wismar are 3 stops by train (20 min), two pretty maritime cities, at the Baltic Sea or Schweriner Lake with festivals, cinemas, bars and shopping malls.

    Lübeck, Hamburg and Berlin are about 1, 2 or 3 hours by train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

simplicity is guiding us
the greenhouse
Jörg likes fishing
green weeks with colourful vegies
beauty is everywhere - never underestimate the power of flowers
lunch outside!!!
Seminarraum - our first room which is purely handmade!
Sommer!!!
the kids are having fun with the aerial silks
the campingvan
Hanna & Eddy on the field










Host ref number: 458494178667