We value other cultures & would like to host people from around the world who can teach English - Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 74 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    808

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Robin, I'm English and have lived in Brazil for 22 years. My Brazilian wife, Maria, & I have two kids (Joana, 7 & Tom, 2). I own, run & teach in a small English language school in Resende & so need foreign natives to help teach at the school. We also love other cultures & would like to have people of other cultures around us & our children, teaching us about their native cultures & language(s). We've just acquired a piano, so if you want to play, learn to play or/& teach us how to play, it's all good!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll learn some Portuguese with us, about Brazilian culture and get to see a beautiful part of Brazil, ideally located between Rio (2 hours away) & San Paulo (3.5 hours away). at the foot of the Mantiquiera mountain range, next to the oldest national park in Brazil (the Itatiaia National Park), 2-3 hours from the lush Green Coast. You'll also learn from us to enjoy all things Brazilian: Brazilian food, music, craft cheese, cachaça & cocktails, trips to local rivers & falls.
    Workwise, you'll learn from someone who's been teaching English in Brazil for 22 years (me! ;-) how to give the best class you can and to build up a repertoire you can take with you.

  • Help

    Help

    I need enthusiastic people who'd like to teach English and to get expert tips on how to hone this skill. Maria & I would also be interested to hear from someone who'd like to be a helper with our two kids.

    You need to be open to being with young children. They can be noisy & needy, but they're also loving, growing people who feed off quality contact with others.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent English & Portuguese, good French & some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with ensuite bathroom in our 4-bedroom house. All food at home is included. We love cooking - & eating! - and hope to learn from you! We are health-food fans, foodies & have a fruit & vegetable garden with passionfruit (good for juices & caipirinhas!), papaya, yams, tomatoes, etc., depending on the season.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During time off, you can visit the local national park (the oldest in Brazil), go for a dip in falls & rivers, especially in hot summer months, get to know the local culture and visit bigger cities, like Rio and San Paulo, or go to the mountains nearby to enjoy cooler climes & a slower pace (Visconde de Mauá, Matutu, Campos de Jordão), or the sea (Paraty, Ilha Grande & the Green Coast).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. This is the ceiling.






Host ref number: 928773619373