Come and help us with gardening and other projects in beautiful Ribatejo, Portugal

  • Favourited 183 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Sonja and Holger, a german couple of 56 yo and are living the simple life on a small farm (Quinta Vitamina) in Portugal since 2017. We are located in the beautiful Ribatejo-Region, about an hour drive east of Lisbon. We have found a very remote place at a sandy dead end road with only very few neighbors and are living here with two horses, four goats, two big guard dogs and two cats.

    The Ribatejo region (northern Alentejo) is the heart and soul of horse-breeding, cattle-farming and cork oaks.

    Because we are living so remotely it would certainly be best for you, if you come with your own transportation. We are of course happy to see you and your Camper van. With your own mode of transport you will be fully able to see and explore everything around. But of course we would pick you up at an airport, train- or bus station and provide a little bit of sightseeing if you do not come with your own vehicle.

    We speak German, English and (some) Portuguese and we would love to hear from you and maybe see you soon in Portugal.
    We keep our calendar updated so please take a look at the available months and get in touch if there is a match with your traveling plans. And if you have extended experience with horses please take a look at our "Winter-Special" in the description below, now we are already looking for winter '24/'25.
    "Normal" stays are also possible during winter, of course! Spring, autumn and winter are the seasons when the tasks have to be done because in summer it is simply too hot to do a lot.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we have both been teachers and trainers in our old life, we will happily show you how we keep and train our horses and dogs (the cats are perfect on their own ;-) ) and maybe you want to pick up some horsemanship skills.

  • Help

    Help

    As life goes, we always have more on our hands than we can manage alone so we would love some help with the gardening as we try to get more self sufficient and are not able to stay on top of everything on our own. There is always land to clear, trees to cut, weeds to pull out and ideas to share. Occasionally we need a little help in the house - dusting and swiping mostly. And if you are a native Portuguese speaker, we would love some language lessons.

    ## Winter-Special for horse people ## (Looking for winter '24/'25 now)
    We would really like to take some time off living on the Quinta in winter and go on a little vacation for maybe a week or a bit less. We are looking for a couple to come sometime during the months of Oct. - Feb. for a stay of maybe 3 or 4 weeks in between which we would take our vacation. Requirements for this (and only this!) stay would be:
    + couple traveling
    + with own car
    + speaking perfect fluent English or Portuguese
    + having extended experience with horses and some experience with dogs
    + 20 plus years old
    If you fit this description and you would like a nice holiday in winter, please contact us and we set up a video meeting.
    We would offer a full week of holiday without work for house-sitting while we are away for up to a week. We would ask you to come for at least 3 weeks: One week working alongside us to get into everything you need to do, one week of house-sitting and one week of holiday. The daily workload will be very low, maybe only 2 hours while we are away but we are looking for reliable people with a certain skill-set.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would really love to improve our Portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We welcome you to visit our little Quinta, stay in our nice Guesthouse with private Bathroom, get impressed by the stunning countryside in Portugal, enjoy the quiet and calm down.
    We provide internet access but it is not always 100% reliable fast so we are not able to host digital nomads or people who need reliable fast internet for work or other purposes.
    You are very welcome to share our meals with us, we are still doing old school German style cooking but with the stunning fresh produce that Portugal has to offer. If you are vegan / vegetarian you might want to prepare some meals for yourself if you do not want to share what we will have. Judging on past experiences we find it pays to ask for acceptance going both ways.
    Please note that in the rural areas of Portugal special diet necessities are a little bit hard to obtain. Gluten free produce is not available everywhere all the time for instance and vegan or vegetarian dishes are normally not served in local restaurants.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please note that there is absolutely NO public transport where we live. If you do not come with your own mode of transport you will be reliant on us to take you where you want to go or need to be. We will of course do that within reasonable limits.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for any size of vehicle on the land but the really long ones can not reach the house (single track road with narrow bends).

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two big (40+ kg) Raffeiro Alentejano guard dogs. Our dogs are very social and welcome every other dog that can behave itself kindly. They are not too fond of very lively, energetic dogs but once they get used to another dog, that's fine. As our cats also like to enjoy a quiet country life we might ask you to keep a dog that is chasing cats as a hobby on a leash.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 741344223475

Feedback (11)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Experience traditional life on our smallholding in rural Alentejo, Portugal
Help with Organic Farming in Bragança, Portugal