Gardening, weeding, and help with daily life inside and outside our family farm in the Sierra Nevada, Spain.

  • Spain
  • Favourited 83 times
  • Last activity: 21 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a Dutch couple and live part of the year in Andalusia (Spain) and part of the year in the city centre of Amsterdam. In between, we are travelling a lot ourselves. Our place used to be a goat shed that we changed after 6 years in a small family farm. We are located at an altitude of 1200 meters in a beautiful hiking area at the northern slopes of the Sierra Nevada, about 700 meters from the nearest villages, Alquife and Lanteira, where you find shops, banks, and several bars and restaurants. We have a big friendly dog, cats and chickens (all of them are not supposed to enter the house), an olive orchard, almonds and a couple of fruit trees.

    The Sierra Nevada National Park starts a few hundred meters from our dwelling and is an excellent place for hiking, mountain biking (we have four ATB’s) or horseback riding. The city of Granada is about 85 km. from Alquife. At our place you will find silence and clean air, space and security.

    About the help. Most of the time we need someone to get out the weed of our terrain and do some cleaning around the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a perfect place for people who like to hike and learn about Andalusian country life. Bart is a social scientist and member of IU (Izquierda Unida) who knows a lot of Spanish and local (social) history. Marion sells horse riding holidays in Spain and likes hiking. We have a hiking booklet available.

  • Help


    We are looking for someone to help with maintaining the space around the house, weeding and cleaning.

    Workawayers will not help with the Air-bnb.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will sleep in a private room. You share the common kitchen with other guests and can cook for yourself or eat together with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house lies in the middle of nature, quite isolated, in between two villages. (800 mtr). There are two buses a day during week time and one in the weekend to Guadix (25 km.), the administrative and commercial centre of the region. You can hike in your spare time and visit the local villages. There is a big swimming pool in the village, open in July and August or you can take a swim in the Balsa (small lake next to the house).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs must be easy going with other dogs, cats and leave the chickens alone.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 3 or 5 hours a day

Host ref number: 341911521611